How to Finish *Boring* Books You Have to Read

How to finish slow and hard to read

I love books, don’t get me wrong. BUT, there are always those books that I have to read for school that are so dry that all I can think of while reading them is all of the other books I could be reading instead. My English Summer Assignment this summer is Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. I’m sure it’s a great book, but it is so slow and hard to get through that I am not enjoying it.

Tips

  1. AUDIOBOOKS: It is much easier to listen while following along. I get distracted too easily otherwise. (There are free ones as podcasts on iTunes, and there are some on YouTube.)
  2. SPLIT IT UP: Don’t Procrastinate! Read a few pages a day, and it will be much more doable.
  3. IF WORST COMES TO WORST: Look up a summary. If it is the night before, and I am way behind, sometimes I have to look up a summary. I don’t suggest this, because you get so much more out of a book by reading it, but if you must…

 

*What are your tips and tricks? Comment below what you do.

Leave a Reply

