Review: The Serpent’s Shadow (Kane Chronicles #3) by Rick Riordan

serpents shadow
Title: The Serpent’s Shadow
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Kane Chronicles #3
Published: May 1, 2012 by Disney-Hyperion
Length: 416 pages (hardcover)
Source: Library

Summary

Apophis is on the move. He has been strategically destroying nomes, and scrolls.  He’s threatening doomsday in three days. With Walt so close to death, Zia off babysitting the sun god, Ra, and the gods disappearing, can Sadie, Carter, and what little support they have stop the end of the world? They must go on a quest to get the Serpent’s Shadow. Even if they survive the search, can they cast the spell without burning up? Time is running out, not only for Walt, but for everyone.

Review

The Serpent’s Shadow was my favorite Kane Chronicle by far! It was so full of action and humor. It was a fun read, and I really enjoyed every page of it. Even though it was fun, the book also had life lessons. Sadie and Carter were very relatable because they go through real life things just on a more exaggerated level.

Love triangles only work out 20% of the time. Sometimes the love triangle even kills the book. But the Walt-Sadie-Anubis thing was awesome? Hilarious? I can’t describe it in words. It didn’t make me upset like so many others, but it was enjoyable in a middle school romance sort of way. I probably laughed at a lot of times when I shouldn’t of, but even the love triangle was hilarious, and not in a bad way. Sadie’s reactions to everything are just funny. Sadie says:

“I can’t pretend I was thinking clearly, but one thing was obvious: these two had been talking behind my back much more than I’d realized. What on earth had they been telling each other about me? Forget Apophis swallowing the sun – this was my ultimate nightmare.” (267)

It is just so lighthearted, and doesn’t tear my heart out, which is always a plus.

Apophis taunts the kids (and everyone) like Satan would, hitting them where it hurts most. Carter realizes, “Apophis was the master of eroding reason and order, of destroying everything that was good and admirable. He was selfish, and he wanted me to be selfish as well.” (362) The whole series is a great example of good v. evil and order v. chaos.

The story also touches on growing up, and is a great coming of age novel. Carter says, “Remembering my dad’s lectures made me want to be a kid again, travelling the world with him. We’d been through some stuff together, but I’d always felt safe and protected.” (51)

All of the characters face so much loss and sacrifice, but they deal with it really well even though it isn’t fair and life’s not fair. Sadie says, “I wasn’t designed for all this loss and sacrifice and horrible sadness.” (247) Then, later on, Carter says, “It wasn’t fair. But I knew what my dad would say about that: Fair means everyone gets what they need. And the only way to get what you need is to make that happen yourself.” (51)

Like all Riordan books, The Serpent’s Shadow was hilarious. Their were so many puns, and the entire book was constantly filled with laughter. If you are looking for a book to make you laugh, this is it. Overall, it was a fun and easy read. I would give it 4/5 stars.

Quotes

*I wanted to add so many more quotes, but since I had to narrow it down to 300 words, and avoid spoilers, I had to leave out some really good ones (and my favorite).

“I didn’t like being a leader. I always had to appear confident for the sake of others, even when I wasn’t.” (37) -Rick Riordan, The Serpent’s Shadow

“‘I’m fine!’ she snapped. Translation: I’m most definitely not fine, but if you ask again I’ll stuff wax in your mouth.” (305) -Rick Riordan, The Serpent’s Shadow

“Rules had their place. They kept us from unraveling.” (308) -Rick Riordan, The Serpent’s Shadow

“A person’s shadow stood for his legacy, his impact on the world. Some people cast hardly any shadow at all. Some cast long, deep shadows that endured for centuries.” (367) -Rick Riordan, The Serpent’s Shadow

“But we all know who’s really in charge – me. Oh, yes, and perhaps Carter a little bit.” (401)  -Rick Riordan, The Serpent’s Shadow

2 thoughts on “Review: The Serpent’s Shadow (Kane Chronicles #3) by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

