Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #1)

tog2
Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #1
Published: August 2012 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Length: 404 pages (Hardcover)
Source: Library

Summary

When Celaena Sardothian, a famous assassin, is taken out of her cell and brought to the prince, she is given a choice: continue suffering in Endovier, a death camp, or participate in a competition in the palace to become the King’s Champion. She decides to leave Endovier. As the rigorous competition continues, she begins to doubt whether she will win. When all odds are stacked against her, and she is forced to face more than just the competition and her looming past, can she survive and win?

Review

I loved this book. I knew going into it that there was a lot of hype around the series, but I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. Celaena is surprisingly relatable, and the characterization is incredible. From the first chapter, there were no wasted sentences.

Throne of Glass is a very unique story. With the dystopian craze, it is easy to fall into reading the same type of stories over and over. This book has the same adventurous appeal, but it is based in what seems to be the past. I was pulled in by every page. Every character is so dynamic, and they continue to surprise me.

Throne of Glass kept me guessing at every turn. The book made me laugh, and made my heart scream (yes, a heart can scream). I loved this book so much more than I thought I would, and can’t wait to see what happens in Crown of Midnight. It was an enjoyable read. Overall, I would give this book 5/5 stars because the characterization was second to none, and it was so unique.

Quotes

Princes are not supposed to be handsome! They’re sniveling, stupid, repulsive creatures! This one… this… How unfair of him to be royal and beautiful.” (8) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“Still, the image haunted his dreams throughout the night: a lovely girl gazing at the stars, and the stars who gazed back.” (38) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“Libraries were full of ideas – perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.” (56) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“You know, I actually felt guilty. Just a little guilty. And now I remember why I shouldn’t have. I hate sitting around, locked in my room, bored out of my senses. I hate all of these guards and nonsense; I hate you telling me to hold back when Brullo sings Cain’s praises and I’m just there, boring and unnoticed in the middle. I hate being told what I can’t do. And I hate you most of all!” (136) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“While it terrified him to see her down there, a hand’s breadth from Dorian’s unprotected throat, what terrified him even more was that he trusted her. And he didn’t know what that meant about himself.” (264) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“We all bear scars, Dorian. Mine just happen to be more visible than most.” (305) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“Elena took a step toward her. ‘You could rattle the stars,’ she whispered. ‘You could do anything, if you only dared. And deep down you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.’” (399) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“Outside, the wind bellowed and raged against the glass spire, but it could do nothing to shatter the walls.” (403) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

*If you search for a pronunciation guide, it can really help with all of the unique names in the book.

There is so much more I would love to have written about, but I didn’t want to spoil anyone. Please feel free to comment below. I would love to discuss some of the more spoiler-y parts of the book. (If there ends up being spoilers in the comments, I will say so here.)

7 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #1)

Leave a Reply

