Review: Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #1)

doon cover 2

Title: Doon
Author: Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon
Series: Doon #1
Published: July 29, 2014 by Blink
Length: 416 (paperback)
Source: Library

Summary

Veronica’s life is falling apart, and she desperately needs an escape from her reality. Kenna has moved away from her best friend, and hopes to spend time with her again in her favorite place in Scotland. Doon is a story about two friends who plan to go to Scotland the summer before their freshman year of college. Before they go to Alloway, Veronica begins to see visions of a gorgeous boy in a kilt. She doesn’t think she is crazy, but when no one else can see this mystery boy she starts to question her sanity.

They find Kenna’s grandmother’s old journal and it makes the obsession with finding this boy even greater. When they learn about the Brig o’ Doon and the legends behind it, Veronica decides she has to go see for herself. Kenna and Veronica find magic rings in the attic, and when they cross the bridge, they are transported into a magical world.

Doon is like a real life fairy tale. This is the world Veronica has always read and dreamed about. Soon they discover an evil lurking just outside of doon. This witch wants to destroy the protective barriers and claim Doon for herself. Can Doon be saved or is it already too late?

Review

Doon is a compelling and exciting novel filled with adventure, romance, and a magical world. I loved everything about the book so much more than I thought I would. The story is told by two narrators: Veronica and Kenna. It is perfectly captured because the two parts were written by different authors. The voices are both unique and different, and I enjoyed both perspectives. Many times switching narrators don’t work out, because the people sound too similar, and it just gets confusing, but in Doon, it was marked at the beginning of every chapter, but I found myself not needing to depend on the chapter headers because each voice was so distinct and different.

Doon has a few swoon worthy characters, and I must admit I freaked out a few times. I have this strange obsession with male characters who call people “love”. It melts my insides, and the fact that one of the characters (*no spoilers here) does it kills me.

I found myself able to relate to both Veronica and Kenna very well, because Veronica loves reading, and escaping into literary worlds, and Kenna is into theatre and the fine arts (like me). They were both great characters, and as the story came along, they grew deeper, and became more rounded people. The character development throughout the entire book was great, especially since I didn’t like a few of the characters at the beginning, but fell in love with them by the end.

I loved the way it was written like a Scottish accent would sound. I could hear the accents in my head because some of the words were written more phonetically to how the accent would pronounce it. The accents helped to build the world even more, and made the story more magical.

The book was so wonderfully done, if cheesy at times. It was the perfect book for the mood I was in, and I can’t wait for the next one! The characters and world was built up as it went along and I found myself falling more and more in love with Doon. To the very end I had no idea what would happen. The story was constantly filled with plot twists, and kept me on the edge of my chair. I have a physical need to go to Scotland now, and I plan on reading Doon again. I would give Doon 5/5 stars because the world drew me in, and I am planning to go buy the whole series right now.

Quotes

Because the copy I read was an ARC, I can’t include quotes. When I acquire a final copy, and am able to check all of the quotes I collected, I will add them in or make a separate post.

13 thoughts on “Review: Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #1)

  1. This book sounds amazing, like a YA version of Outlanders!

    By the way, I recently discovered that if you read e-galleys on Kindle you can still highlight the quotes then find them in My Notes or My Clippings. Hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! I haven’t read Outlander yet, but it’s on my TBR. I’ve heard they are very similar. Good to know! I just have to check them with the final version of the book, because I read a Advanced Readers Copy. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

