Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

crown of
Title: Crown of Midnight
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #2
Published: August 27, 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Length: 418 pages (Hardcover)
Source: Library

Summary

*My reviews contain no spoilers for the book I am reviewing unless otherwise mentioned, but if you haven’t read the books that come before the book I am reviewing, I cannot guarantee it. This summary may contain spoilers if you haven’t read Throne of Glass.

Celeana is now the king’s champion, and is forced to do the king’s dirty work. But secretly, she knows of the evil that lurks in the king’s heart. As she begins to learn the secrets of the castle, and that she is not alone in searching for them, her relationships suffer. Her loyalty and motives are questioned by her best friends. One night a tragedy shakes Celaena’s world, again. Can she recover from all of the terrible things that have happened in her life? Will she decide where her loyalties lie, and find a cause worth fighting for? Will she stand for what she believes in, and fight?

Review

Crown of Midnight was beautifully written. Just like Throne of Fire, the characters are so well rounded, and become more and more developed with every page. It is easy to fall in love with most of the characters, because they are all relateable in one way or another. (On a semi-related note, I love how obsessed with chocolate Celeana is. It makes me love her even more!) The plot line kept me on the edge of my chair, and I couldn’t put it down.

The love triangle in the story ripped my heart out. Can’t authors stick to one guy? I felt really bad for one of the characters, but I think if it had been a perfect fairy tale ending, and if there hadn’t been the stupid love triangle, then the book wouldn’t have been as good. Even though I keep calling it stupid, it made the story better, so lets settle on mixed feelings towards this love triangle. (I think I see a love triangle rant post in the future.)

That being said, there was one part of the novel that made me very uncomfortable, and almost made me want to stop reading the book. I felt that this particular part was not necessarily needed, and served to make me not like one of the characters very much.

It was still a fantastic book (once I got through those couple of chapters), and I am glad I finished it. I cannot wait to read Heir of Fire. Crown of Midnight ripped my heart out so many times. I loved the suspense, and the surprise of what would happen next. I thought some parts were really funny as well. It was a really good book overall, and I would give it 4.5 stars because the characterization was amazing, and the writing style and storyline pulled me in. I didn’t want to put it down.

Quotes

This book officially sets the record for the most notes I have taken for book reviews since I started this blog. There were so many wonderful parts I had to write down so I could go back and re experience them, and I had over 2088 words worth of quotes. That being said, I didn’t get to include some of my favorites, but here are some anyway.

“She was playing a very, very lethal game.” (16) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“There is nothing complicated. It is the difference between right and wrong. The slaves in those camps have people who love them just as much as you loved my friend.” (137) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“When will you say enough, Celaena? What will make you stop running and face what is before you? If Endovier and the plight of my people cannot move you, what will?” (204) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“She had a flicker of a memory from a time when, just for a moment, she’d been free; when the world had been wide open and she’d been about to enter it with Sam at her side. It was a freedom that she was still working for, because even though she’d tasted it only for a heartbeat, it had been the most exquisite heartbeat she’d ever experienced.” (83) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“For you, I’d say that chocolate is most definitely a need.” (173) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“She’d been alone for five and a half months now; alone, yet surrounded by thousands. She couldn’t remember the last time she’d seen the sky, or the grasslands of Eyllwe undulating in a cool breeze.” (248) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“You must learn to ask the right questions before you can receive the right answers.” (126) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“Perhaps her music could conquer even a tyrant’s heart. Perhaps there was an unstoppable magic inherent in music and art.” (118) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

“‘Traitors. For refusing to grovel before a conqueror? For sheltering escaped slaves trying to get home? For daring to believe in a world that’s better than this gods-forsaken place?’ She shook her head, some of her hair escaping. ‘I will not be his butcher.’” (186) -Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

4 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

Leave a Reply

