Review: Destined For Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #2) SPOILERS

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR DOON AND A SMALL AMOUNT OF SPOILERS FOR DESTINED FOR DOON! PLEASE DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU HAVE READ BOTH BECAUSE I WOULD HATE FOR YOU TO BE SPOILED.

dfd
Title: Destined for Doon
Author: Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon
Series: Doon #2
Published: September 2, 2014 by Blink
Length: 342 (paperback)
Source: Bought

*I decided to change things up for this review in an attempt to not be too similar to my first Doon review.

The Characters

My favorite part about the Doon novels so far has been the characters. Shades of Doon didn’t disappoint, but since Kenna left Duncan in the first book, the awkwardness between them ripped my heart out, and most of the book was heart wrenching because of the tension and coldness. Kenna continually said that she didn’t deserve to ever have Duncan love her after what she did to him, and I understood this, but it did annoy me a bit.

The friendship between Kenna and Veronica is so real and relatable. I love how they share a brain, and understand each other so well.

Jamie is my love. I love how him and Veronica fight and don’t have a perfect relationship because it adds a realness to the story and makes them easier to relate to.

Finally, Fergus and Fiona are easily one of my favorite supporting couples ever! Fiona is so sassy, and hilarious, and Fergus is a big teddy bear. I love the dynamic between them, and they made the story 100 times better than it would be without them.

The Setting

This series has made me really want to go to Scotland. Doon is such a magical and beautiful place, and I love how the book is written in Scottish accents. The setting and accents add to the experience.

The Plot

At every twist and turn, I was dying on the inside but it was an enjoyable pain. Veronica struggles to become the queen she wants to be. She actually searches and does research, and fights with people. I like that she wasn’t automatically the perfect queen she had always wanted to be, but that she actually had to work at it. The Doon series is so enjoyable and fun. When I went back through the book to type up all of my quotes, I found myself melting all over again. It just makes me warm inside, and it is a really fun book to read. It seems like there will never be a perfect happy ending, but I guess that is how life is.

I would give Destined for Doon 4 stars.

Quotes

“But he was still Jamie, the boy with a bit too much confidence for his own good.” (38) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“I was faking being in love with a boy that I was pretending not to be in love with, but was really head-over-heels crazy about.” (123) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“At the other end of the hall, Fiona was ripping her fionce a new one. Head downcast and slump-shouldered, Fergus appeared even more miserable than earlier, if such a thing were possible. Fiona had the big guy practically cowering in the corner as she punctuated her heated words with her small, shaking fist.” (150) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“A universal truth in acting is that motivation is more important than action. What we do becomes meaningless without the why.” (327) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

Authority, I’d found, did not make one a queen.” (159) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“‘You wrecked me.’ The truth of his words slammed through me. I hadn’t just left him, I’d caused him irreparable damage. His duality, the loss of his beliefs, his association with Analisa — all my fault. I didn’t deserve a second chance to stay in Doon or with the prince that was once destined to be my soul mate. I wasn’t worthy.” (178) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“His smile vanished. ‘I care, Mackenna. Probably more that ye can comprehend. But the minute I start acting like my world is coming to an end is the moment our enemy wins. I recently realized that if I were to die, I would have two major regrets. One of them is not truly living each and every moment when I had the chance.’” (220) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“In the meantime, do what you can, and when you canna do any more, pause to honor the people in your life that make it worth living.” (220) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

“At some point, you are going to have to choose to be brave.” (273) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Destined for Doon

5 thoughts on “Review: Destined For Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #2) SPOILERS

Leave a Reply

