Review: Shades of Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #3)

sod clear image

Title: Shades of Doon
Author: Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon
Series: Doon #3
Published: September 1, 2015 by Blink
Length: 345 pages (Hardcover)
Source: BookLook

*This review may have spoilers if you have not read the first two books.

Summary

After narrowly escaping death, again, Veronica is left with a fairy tale of a life. With Kenna back, she is finally able to enjoy her kingdom, prince, and best friend at the same time. Mackenna’s life seems to be going great too. She is building a theatre and is able to enjoy her prince at last. Just as everything seems to finally be coming together and they are starting to live the fairytale life they’ve always wanted, Kenna and Vee are ripped away from the world they love. Veronica and Kenna struggle to get back, and are faced with the prospect of being stuck in the real world.

Review

From the first sentence, Shades of Doon captured my attention.

I have fallen in love with all of the little things about the characters. Jamie is super protective (which can be annoying, but is also endearing), and the way he reacts when girls cry is priceless. He has grown so much that it is almost like he is a different character. Kenna is overly jealous which at first I thought was ridiculous, but it has become kinda funny. Duncan and Kenna both help to diffuse each other. Jamie and Duncan never seem to notice how much every girl swoons after them because they are so focused on Vee and Kenna, and it is adorable. The three main male characters each have cute names they call the girls. Jamie calls Vee love, Duncan calls Kenna woman which is really funny, and Fergus calls Fiona wife.

I always want a book that has me so involved with all of the characters that when anything happens I go through all of the emotions that come along with a book. Shades of Doon did that for me. I won’t say anymore because I hate spoilers, but if you’ve read it I would love to discuss in comments (I will leave a warning if there are any spoilers in comments).

There are lots of allusions to the bible, and I love it. The characters go through many moral dilemmas, and have to stay on track. The characters explore what it means to have faith, and to trust in the Protector’s will. My favorite verse right now is Daniel 3:17-18 and Jamie goes through a dialogue that is similar.

Sadly, at times, the series’ conflicts can seem slightly forced, but I still enjoyed it. The Doon series has a fantastic fairytale feel to it, and so any cheesiness is okay because it blends into the story.

Shades of Doon is wonderful, and now the characters are developed enough that I understand them, and can really enjoy it. It feels a little like movie sequels though, where they go downhill a little in believability. Some parts seemed forced, and it didn’t blow me away, but it is still an adorable fairy tale story. It left me on the edge of my seat, and I will read the next one. By itself, the book was fantastic, and probably a better than the first, but overall I feel like the conflict in the story is starting to feel repetitive so I am giving it 4.3/5 stars. I loved it, and if you haven’t read the Doon series yet, I suggest you jump on that.

Quotes

“I dinna believe we’ve come all this way just to be at the end of our story. I trust we’ve many wonderful chapters ahead.” (79) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“Nay, she did it of her own free will. But the Protector used the situation for his glory, in spite of her weakness.” (108) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“Maybe that was faith — knowing something as truth, even without proof.” (133) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“From the first moment when I laid my eyes on ye, my life was twined with yours. When you’re gone, I exist but cease to live. I canna take a deep breath or taste food, or sleep soundly or hear the sweetness of music. I’m a husk.” (180) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“I am not yer father, Verranica. I willna give up on ye. I love tha’ you challenge me, tha’ ye push me to be better. We have a divine Calling, yes. But even if we dinna, I would choose you. Over and over I will choose you until you get it through your thick-as-granite skull that I will always choose you.” (205) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“You will be pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. Trust. Use the armor I’ve given you. And a kingdom will rise up that will stand forever.’” (254) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

“‘I have no need to defend myself, or our Protector. If he who I serve is willin’ to deliver me from your hand, let him do so. But if not, know this.’ Jamie crossed his arms and spread his feet, his eyes blazing. ‘I will never serve you, or bow down to you.’” (310) -Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon, Shades of Doon

I received Shades of Doon from BookLook for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Review: Shades of Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (Doon #3)

Leave a Reply

