Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

kod

Title: The Kiss of Deception
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1
Published: July 8, 2014 by Henry Holt
Length: 489 pages (Hardcover)
Source: Library

Summary

Princess Arabella is tired of everyone dictating her future, and when she is forced into an arranged marriage to a prince she has never met, she can’t stand it anymore. She wants to marry for love, not just because it could be beneficial to her country. Her mother was forced to marry her father, and she never sees any love in their eyes. She feels trapped, like a slave in her own palace. So she makes plans to escape. She and her friend and servant Pauline run away, but her father sends guards after her, and the country she was supposed to be married off to is furious. Soon an assassin and the prince she was to marry go after her. Will she survive to create a life for herself?

Review

I loved this book. At first glance it is a really big book (489 pages) but I flyed through it, and as soon as I finished The Kiss of Deception, I had to start The Heart of Betrayal because I needed more.

The Kiss of Deception has one of the biggest plot twists I have ever seen. Definitely in my top two, and possibly even the best. It was amazing, and I may have screamed just a little bit. Every twist and turn in the story left me on the edge of my seat wanting more.

The characters are all very dynamic, and see so much development throughout the course of the book. They had great chemistry with each other, whether positive or negative, and it made the book even more impressive and interesting. Lia is bold, loveable, and made me laugh a lot. I could relate to her in certain ways, and that relatability is really important for any book I read. Pauline was super sweet. Rafe and Kaden were both… well, they are both swoon worthy, and even though I liked Rafe better for the majority of the time, I found myself liking Kaden too, and sometimes feeling bad for him. Most of the characters are likeable.

I love the writing style, and all of the extras throughout the book. At the beginning or ends of many of the chapters, there are parts of the Holy Texts or Song of Venda and it was interesting to read them because they contribute to the story, and show the differences in culture and religion among the different kingdoms.

The world is built very well, and it is easy to imagine everything that the characters go through because it is nicely painted out. I was lost in the world for a while even after finishing the book. The world is built up very well, and reminded me of why I love series so much: because when done right, they show a very complete picture of a beautiful world I can get lost in. Also it gives ample time for the characters to be built up and go through plenty of development.

Overall, I would give The Kiss of Deception 5/5 stars because the plot was perfect, the plot twist was even better, and it didn’t even take me two minutes to decide I didn’t need sleep and would rather start the next one.

Quotes

“Everything he said seemed to carry a gravity beyond his stated words.” (121) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“Trust your gifts, Arabella, whatever they might be. Sometimes a gift requires great sacrifice, but we can no more turn our backs on it than will our hearts not to beat.” (252) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“The words Rafe had spoken rang clear again. Some things last… the things that matter. The very words I had scoffed at only weeks ago now filled me with wonder.” (270) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“He looked up at me, almost like a child. ‘You’re strong, Lia. You were always the strongest of us. That’s what worried Mother.’” (275) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“It can take years to mold a dream. It takes only a fraction of a second for it to be shattered.” (279) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“‘But remember, child, we may all have our own story and destiny, and sometimes our seemingly bad fortune, but we’re all a part of a greater story too. One that transcends the soil, the wind, time… even our own tears.’ She reached down and wiped under my eye with her thumb. ‘Greater stories will have their way.’” (411) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

Listen well, for the child sprung from misery Will be the one to bring hope. From the weakest will come strength. From the hunted will come freedom.” (440) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

The Dragon knows only hunger, never sated. Only thirst, never quenched.” (440) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

The good ones don’t run away, Lia.” (481) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“It had been a clever deception from the very beginning.” (485) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

6 thoughts on “Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

Leave a Reply

