Review: Chivalrous by Dina L. Sleiman (Valiant Hearts #2)

chiv

Title: Chivalrous
Author: Dina L. Sleiman
Series: Valiant Hearts #2
Published: September 1, 2015 by Bethany House Publishers
Length: 368 pages (Paperback)
Source: Bethany House Publishers

Summary

Gwendolyn wishes to be a knight. She trains in jousting and is rather good with a sword, but sadly her gender and social status allows her to be nothing but a marriage pawn. At age 16, she has gotten away for far longer than most without being married off to some man she didn’t love in order to increase her family’s wealth and power. She wants to be able to choose her own man, or no man at all, but her brute of a father has other plans. She never knew her father well, except for the terror she experienced whenever he came home. He was now back for good, and she won’t be able to avoid marriage for much longer.

Review

Chivalrous is a twist on the Lancelot Guinevere and King Arthur tales, a love story, and a trip through what it means to have faith and where a woman stands in the eyes of God. I enjoyed it immensely. I loved the setting because I have an obsession with the medieval time period, castles, and knights.  

Gwen is a very headstrong character and she shows how tough girls can be. Rosalind has such a kind heart and is the average girl, but is able to fight with Gwen, and she is very versatile. Throughout the story, Rosalind grew as a character, and I’m excited because she is the main character in the third book. All of the characters added to the story, and made it more exciting.

Not only is it a great story, but it also has a fantastic message. Even just reading the dedication for the book, I could tell this was going to be a great book with strong morals. It addresses many important topics such as how God views women, what it means to have faith, and how God leads His children in certain directions. Some of the characters experience how much God truly loves them, and that He is alway there they just had to open their hearts to Him. I loved the message of the story, and I love how real the inner conflicts the characters faced were.

The plot was exciting as well. I thought it was very strong and exciting throughout (if a little weak at the end). I wasn’t completely sure what was going to happen and I really like that. Overall, I would give Chivalrous 4/5 stars.

Quotes

When I started reading the book, I was taking notes as normal, but I decided it was a book I would rather just sit and read. I was having too much fun with it, and so I didn’t write down quotes because I decided I would rather just read and fly through the amazing story.

//

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Review: Chivalrous by Dina L. Sleiman (Valiant Hearts #2)

  1. I’ve loved the girl becomes knight trope ever since Mulan, I don’t think it will ever get old for me haha. This book sounds fantastic in its messages, although I tend to stay away from books with very clear religious messages, I might have to make an exception for this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

