Interview Q & A With Author Dina L. Sleiman

I got the chance to interview Dina L. Sleiman about her new book Chivalrous (Valiant Hearts #2)

chiv

Q: What was your main motivation in writing Chivalrous?

A: My motivation for the whole Valiant Hearts Series can be summed up in my dedication to my readers. My prayer for my readers is that you will be strong and courageous. Follow the path God has laid before you, wherever that might lead. Be a doctor, a lawyer, a professional athlete, a wife, a mother, or even a president. Chase after your dreams, and if a handsome knight in shining armor should happen to come alongside you, headed in the same direction, and you should happen to fall in love…then join together and become partners in your quest. But please remember this—you are complete, you are beautiful, and you are dearly loved by God just the way you are.

Q: Which character do you identify with most?

A: I identify most with Rosalind, a secondary character who will be the main character in book 3 of the Valiant Hearts Series. She loves beautiful things and in many ways is a typical girl, but she is also strong and tough enough to hang with a serious tomboy like Gwendolyn, the main character, and she appreciates the new skills she’s learned from her.  

Q: When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

A: In high school I decided that I wanted to write novels, but at that point I wasn’t sure if I would want to do it full-time or just a as hobby. I minored in English in college and studied Professional Writing in graduate school.

Q: Who is your favorite writer?

A: Roseanna White

Q: Where do you generally write? Do you do anything special while you write? (i.e. listen to music, etc.)

A: In my bedroom. I’m a purist. I need to be alone, and I need stillness and silence when I write. But my weird little writing “quirk,” is that I write sitting in bed with my computer in my lap and my feet up. People ask if I fall asleep. The answer is never while writing, but sometimes while editing.

Q: Do you prefer e-books or physical books?

A: I love my kindle. I almost read exclusively on it at this point, and I like to use the text to speech feature.

Thank you so much for agreeing to this interview!

//

If you’d like to hear more about the book, check out my review here. Chivalrous is out now, and can be purchased on Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Interview Q & A With Author Dina L. Sleiman

Leave a Reply

