Review: It’s Good to Be Queen by Liz Curtis Higgs

 queen
Title: It’s Good to Be Queen
Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
Series: No
Published: July 21, 2015 by WaterBrook Press
Length: 224 pages (paperback)
Source: Blogging For Books

Be Bold, Be Open, Seek Wise Counsel, Be Humbled, Be Honest, Encourage Everyone, Praise God, Give Generously, Receive Graciously, End Well.

It’s Good to Be Queen is the story of the Queen of Sheba. Who’s that, right? Before I read it I wasn’t completely sure. The Queen of Sheba went on a journey to the lands of king Solomon so she could meet with him, ask him questions, and find out why he was said to be so wise.

Top 5 reasons It’s Good to Be Queen is a great book for anyone in search of a beautiful Bible study:

  1. It’s easy to read. My problem with bible studies and reading the Bible is my short attention span. I see a squirrel and I am gone. I read It’s Good to Be Queen very quickly and wasn’t distracted (too much). It is an easy read and reads like a novel.
  2. It’s thorough. I like to really dig deep into the Bible and it’s stories. Higgs did her homework for this book. The book goes verse by verse, and she explains everything. There is so much research that went into writing It’s Good to Be Queen, and after reading it, I understand the queen of Sheba, and king Solomon, whereas before I read the book I didn’t even know who the queen of Sheba was.
  3. It’s witty. It was entertaining just because of the humor and sarcasm the author writes with. It felt like I was having a conversation with someone or listening to Higgs talk instead of reading words off a page.
  4. It’s personal and inclusive. There are lots of personal stories in the book, and it helps to make a connection with the reader. It is evident that Higgs has put much of herself into her book, and it makes me want to read more by her. The book is filled with real stories of actual people. While writing this book, Higgs reached out to the peoples of the interweb, and they responded with their knowledge, experience, and wisdom. It adds yet another dimension to a wonderful book.
  5. I needed to hear everything this book had to say. It was spot on in nearly every way, and it gave me the same excitement I always get at the end of the big youth conferences I go to with my church. It made me really want to go out and do more for the King of the Universe.

It’s Good to Be Queen was fantastic. I didn’t have any expectations going into the story, but it exceeded any possible expectation I could have had. I would give it 4.5/5 stars.

Since this bible study was so personal, and I feel that everyone will get something different out of it depending on what God wants you to take out of it, I am not going to add my quotes. If you are interested in some of my favorite quotes from It’s Good to Be Queen, I would love to discuss them in comments.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review.

9 thoughts on “Review: It’s Good to Be Queen by Liz Curtis Higgs

  1. I don’t usually read books with a heavy religious bend , but this one sounds wonderful for people who are seeking for it! I love that it gets personal yet remains witty enough to keep you engaged! Great review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

