Top Ten Tuesday: Quotes I Loved From Books I’ve Read Since Summer

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This is a really difficult week for me. Why? Because I am obsessed with amazing quotes! I decided that instead of saying the best quotes in the past year, I am going to do the best quotes since summer (July-ish) because that is right before I started blogging and when I began to really take notes when I read.

I wish I had the time to make graphics for all of these, but I have been getting sicker and sicker the past couple of days, and I don’t feel well enough to sit at the computer for that long. Hopefully in the future I will be able to.

John Green 2 (1)

John Green is one of the most quotable writers. Every time I read one of his books, I feel enlightened. Perhaps not smarter, but I feel like I possibly understand a certain character better, or the world better. I could spend all day on John Green Quotes, and maybe that will be a future post, but I love this one because I plan to travel the world someday. I want to experience more than just my little bubble in the United States. I want to go to little hole in the wall cities in countries that most people haven’t heard of and experience how other people live. I am so fortunate to live in the United States, but I want to go out and help people who aren’t as fortunate as me.

“But even the great can tremble with fear. Even the great can fall.” (259) -Mary E. Pearson, Heart of Betrayal

I’m not sure what it is about this quote that I like so much. I guess it is just a reminder to check your pride before you fall.

I actually stand up this time. My eyes are filling fast with tears and I blink and blink but the world is a mess and I want to laugh because all I can think is how horrible and beautiful it is, that our eyes blur the tru

Tahereh Mafi’s writing is always so poetic and beautiful, and this quote is no exception. It describes crying in a way I had never seen it before, and I love it.

“‘You could rattle the stars,’ she whispered. ‘You could do anything, if you only dared. And deep down you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.’” (399) -Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

A person can change the world with thoughts, actions, ideas. It’s scary to put yourself out there, but every day the world changes a little. I want to change the world for the better, but the world seems to get worse every day. Sometimes I drown in the thoughts of what if what I do isn’t enough? What if I do my best and still fail? That’s the thing. Failure allows the chance to get back up and be better.

“It can take years to mold a dream. It takes only a fraction of a second for it to be shattered.” (279) -Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

“It may be unfair, but what happens in a few days, sometimes even a single day, can change the course of a whole lifetime, Amir.” (142) -Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

These two quotes sorta go together. It takes a long time to build something up, and that thing can be ruined very quickly.

“Children aren’t coloring books. You don’t get to fill them in with your favorite colors.” (21) -Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

I like this one because many times people have a certain expectation of everyone. Some parents try to force their children to go into a certain job field, and punish them whenever they get less-than-perfect grades. A child is a child. They are their own person, not their parents and they will make their own decisions.

“…let me give you a piece of advice. The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs.” (40) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

This is one of those William Herondale quotes that first made me fall in love with his character. It’s just so… Will. I don’t know how to explain it unless you’ve read the books. For those of you who have read The Infernal Devices, Will or Jem?

“Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.” (224) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I love The Infernal Devices series so much, and I have so many quotes I loved, but this one is another favorite because it is such a fantastic idea, and is again very Will and Tessa like.

“It’s all right to love someone who doesn’t love you back, as long as they’re worth you loving them. As long as they deserve it.” (297) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I don’t think I need to do any justifying for this one. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

What are some of your favorite quotes! Would you like to see an actual “favorite quotes of all time post” instead of just since summer?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Quotes I Loved From Books I’ve Read Since Summer

  1. AHHHH THESE ARE SO BEAUTIFUL. I particularly like the Clockwork Angel one about pretending to be a book character. yesssss. That is beautiful and so wonderful. I also like that Kite Runner one about not colouring kids in how you want. OMG THAT IS GORGEOUS WRITING. I’ve only read the graphic novel for it, but I do want to read the full book one day.
    Quotes are the best right?!? I never remember to save many though, but omg I get so attached to beautiful quotes. Particularly John Green. His books are entirely quotable. ❤
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am absolutely obsessed with quotable books! Sometimes after reading a really good sentence, I will just stop in awe of the beautiful writing and profound thoughts. I generally take notes while reading, so I can save quotes, but I haven’t been doing it for long, so I know there are some books I need to go back and reread purely to get all of the amazing quotes I can remember. John Green is the best as far as quotable books go! Thanks for stopping by Cait!

      Like

  2. These are great quotes! I love quotes too. My favorite feature of my e-reader is the highlighter (because it saves the quotes without actually marking up the book!). My favorite quotes come from Jane Austen novels (particularly Persuasion) and To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Liked by 1 person

      • When I read traditional paper books, I take notes on post-its. On my blog, I have a ridiculous picture of what my version of TKAM looks like (posted on July 19, 2013–I’d put the link to the picture, but I don’t know what your policy on unsolicited links is). It’s full of post-it notes!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a good idea! I don’t generally like links in the comments because I get a lot of spam, and generally all links go straight into my spam bin, but I will definitely check out your post! Thanks 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

