Special Review: Instant Happy Journal by Karen Salmansohn

instant happy

When I first heard the name, all I could think of was hippy sayings inside of a very colorful book, but I still got it, and really like it. It is “365 days of inspiration, gratitude, and joy”.

*I have written in this book at the end of a day as a sort of reflection, but it can just as easily be used in the mornings to set the day.

 

Inspiration

It’s really interesting to go through the book, and see all the different quotes and prompts the author picked out. I don’t journal much (if at all) because I do not have the patience or drive to write down what I did each day when I could be doing other things (reading, eating, sleeping, etc.), but this journal is a good way to reflect back on the day with a sentence or two and really recognize all the things a person has to be grateful for.

 

Gratitude

Many of the quotes and prompts make the reader look back on their day and realize all of the wonderful things that happened. So far, it has made me realize how much I have to be grateful for, and how often I take advantage of those things. Thankfulness is especially prevalent during the thanksgiving holiday, but how often are we (humans) actually thankful for things on a daily basis? In a world that seems to be getting worse everyday (with the Paris, Baghdad, etc. bombing this past week) it’s hard to not just look at the negatives of life, but the fact that I am alive, free, and living in a world where I am given a second chance every day despite my shortcomings, I need to reflect and recognize all of the wonderful things God has blessed me with. I am very fortunate, and I have been trying to make an effort every day to thank God for everything He has blessed me with.

 

Joy

I’m not sure the actual words on the page give me joy, but I am excited to (possibly) look back someday on this journal and see all of the things I was grateful for, and what was going on in 16 year old Aubrey’s life. As I said before, I generally don’t journal, BUT this little prompt machine has actually gotten me to start because it’s so simple.

 

Since this is another “special review”, meaning I’m not reviewing an actual book, my rating is meaningless compared to my other reviews, but just for the sake of slapping a number on this Instant Happy Journal 5/5 stars! (You know, compared to all the other “happy journals” I own–not really).

 

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review.

Do you keep a journal? How do you feel journaling helps you? What are you grateful for?

One thought on “Special Review: Instant Happy Journal by Karen Salmansohn

Leave a Reply

