Discussion: Comparing The Hunger Games and Divergent

Discussion

No one can deny the similarities between The Hunger Games series and the Divergent series, but during the dystopian craze lots of books seemed very similar. I’m not sure which one I like better, but they both have their perks.

 

The Hunger Games

Characters: I couldn’t stand Katniss at some points because she was so whiny and constantly throwing a pity party for herself. The Gale-Katniss-Peeta thing was aggravating since Katniss could never make up her mind about which one she loved. Are you Team Gale or Peeta? I like Gale better in the books, but they built up Peeta much more in the movies. When I first read them, I was completely on “team Gale”, but now I jump back and forth. Even though Katniss annoyed me sometimes, many of the characters really were fantastic (Finnick, Rue, Cinna, Haymitch etc.). Who is your favorite?

 

Plot: I didn’t like the whole kids killing kids thing. That being said, I was so drawn into the story that as soon as I finished Catching Fire, I begged my mom to take me to a bookstore because I had to start Mockingjay (It had just come out). I have reread the series 3 times since. I’m trying to reread them again too before I see Mockingjay Part 2. I think that goes to show how good they are.

 

The Movies: The Hunger Games movies are so good. They did a great job of sticking to the books (even though they left out some good parts, but you can’t keep everything). The movies have all gone above and beyond what I expected. (I haven’t seen Mockingjay Part 2 yet, but I have high expectations).

 

Divergent

Characters: Tris is easier to not hate. Most of the characters in the Divergent series are fantastic (except for Caleb and David. Gah! Scumbags. I really don’t like them.) Tobias/Four is pretty *ahem* good. 😉 I enjoyed the dynamic between Tris and Christina and many of the other characters. Tobias is certainly a lovely character, and I loved how he was slowly revealed. It was like we got to know him as the books progressed instead of all at once. Do you like Four? Who is your favorite character? Who is your least favorite?

 

Plot: I remember when I first read the series, I was obsessed. It wasn’t quite as hyped as THG yet, and I don’t like reading books that are super hyped because then I have too high of expectations and am normally disappointed. It kept me on the edge of my seat and I didn’t know what was going to happen. The ending killed me, but such is life.

 

The Movies: Divergent was good. Insurgent was very off from the books, but I still enjoyed it. After seeing the Allegiant trailer, I’m not expecting it to be anything like the book. At this point, I’m not going to try to compare the book to the movie, but just try to enjoy Allegiant as if it were something else. I’m sure it will be great, just not accurate. I wonder what Veronica Roth thinks about the movies? Have you seen the Allegiant trailer? What did you think? Do you agree with me? Do you like the books or the movies better?

Both

Overall, I love them both, I plan to reread both of them (THG within the next couple of weeks). I enjoyed the way The Hunger Games was written better, but I enjoyed the Divergent concept more. There are many notable characters in both. I cried (okay, sobbed) in both of them, but also laughed a lot. They are both fantastic.
What do you think about The Hunger Games and/or Divergent? Which is your favorite? Who are your favorite characters? Is there anything you don’t like about them? Please feel free to discuss–this is a discussion.

19 thoughts on “Discussion: Comparing The Hunger Games and Divergent

  1. I enjoyed reading the Hunger Games immensely (I think I read them all in a couple weeks), up until the last half of the last book. I won’t go into any details to keep your page spoiler free, but I was incredibly disappointed with the entire conclusion, not so much in what happens, but how what happens affects everything that led up to it. It’s actually the sole reason I haven’t bothered to see the latest two movies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah 😦 most people seem to be disappointed with Mockingjay in general, but from what I have heard, Suzanne Collins (the writer) was rushed into writing Mockingjay. It makes sense because the plot and as you said conclusion in Mockingjay were definitely lacking in comparison to the completeness of the others. She did such a wonderful job of building up all of her characters and the plot line, and then it all was ended a little abruptly and lamely. I really wish she would of taken her time, because I like it now, but imagine what it could be like. Even so, I think you should give the movies a chance! (I haven’t seen Mockingjay Part 2, but I really want to).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely Divergent! In my opinion, HG books were not as good as the films. Divergent is one of my fave books ever, so HG can’t compare. Like the post though! I agree about Katniss. X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely like the Hunger Games better than Divergent. I read THG novels so fast haha and the films are SO well done! Divergent on the other hand, what was that last movie? I decided to watch it because I hadn’t seen it yet, and was very disappointed. It felt like a waste of my time, the plot fell flat and as I continued to watch I had no idea what I was watching anymore. I don’t think I’ll be watching Allegiant, but I can’t wait to watch the new Hunger Games film!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just watched Mockingjay Part 2 a few days ago and OH MY GOSH IT IS SERIOUSLY FANTASTIC. AND SUPER, SUPER INTENSE. Seriously, you will cry so hard!

    I guess I like them both pretty equally. I like the concept of Divergent better, and all the factions based on your personality was really interesting. I also loved the world-building in the HG, and though I didn’t really enjoy reading about the concept of the book, I felt like Collins made the idea of the Hunger Games really realistic, which was pretty terrifying to me. She created a world so complex and interesting, especially in the last book.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhh! Finnick. I am hoping to read them again before Friday because I am going to see it with my family (again) then. I was really impressed yet again by how closely they stuck to the books. By the way, I emailed you with a few ideas for our collab, if you still are interested in doing it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

