Rating System + New Logo

It might seem like lately I have been super hard on the books I read. Yes, and no. It’s not that I think they were bad, more that I have realized how good a 5 is. When I first started reviewing and started this blog, I always gave everything a very high rating, and looking back I don’t think I would have given particular books that same rating today. My standards have changed. I have read more books this year than I have in my entire life, and I am really getting a taste for what a great book is. So yes, I am very picky with books, and I may give a fantastic book a 3 when you might think it’s the best book you have ever read. This isn’t because I didn’t like it. I probably really enjoyed it, it’s just that in a world with so many wonderful books, not every book can be a 5. Now that I have a higher standard for the books I read, I will probably rate them more harshly, but this is all a part of growing up in the literary world.

*****

Feel free to check out my rating system at any time on my Book Review Policy page at any time. I also have a list of all the books I have reviewed on my Review Archive Page.

*****

Have your standards changed since you started reviewing (to bloggers) or have you started to be more picky about what a fantastic book is (to general readers)? Let me know down below if the same thing has happened to you!

P.S. Who noticed my new logo? Thoughts?

13 thoughts on “Rating System + New Logo

  1. Oh yes I totally relate to this! I feel like I’ve just flooded my eyeballs with so many EPIC books that I’ve set my bar so so high and it takes a lot for a book to reach it now. XD Which I don’t think is bad per se. I like quality. 😉 But it does seem harder to give a book 5-stars. *nods* Although I do give a book 5-stars if I utterly love it…even if it isn’t “perfect”. Because I feel like life is short and books should be enjoyed. XD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Haha. By perfect I just meant that after it I feel changed or impacted by the book in some way. I feel like 5 stars means I won’t forget the book for a long time, and there was some magical property to it that made it extremely fantastic. Dido to the “life is short and books should be enjoyed!” Thanks so much for stopping by Cait!

      Like

  2. I’m the same way… A couple of author friends have sort of called me out for giving their books less than 5 stars when the review said I loved it, but it’s exactly as you say… Not every book can be a 5, especially not with so much stuff out there so close to perfection (and not necessarily just the classics or the big names, either). For me, anything above a 2-star rating is good—but not everyone sees it that way, especially now that so much stock gets put in reviews.

    Your logo ROCKS. Absolutely gorgeous. Caught my eye right away on your comment at Damyanti’s blog (thanks for stopping over there, by the way, and for the interaction… much, much appreciated). Very cool!
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Sometimes I have been giving a lot of books around 3 stars lately, which is great and I loved the books, but since I have experienced so many FANTASTIC books, I am a little more picky with my higher rated books. Thank you so much! 🙂 Of course! I love Damyanti’s blog, and you gave great advice. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

      Like

  3. I know this is a common problem for a LOT of people. But I find myself doing it only a little. Like, when I was just reading and then slapping on a rating for funsies, I would be more generous, yes. Now I DO try to be more critical- or maybe just more realistic? But I still think I am fairly lenient in the sense that if I LOVE a book, it is getting 4.5 to 5 stars. And if there are flaws, I will absolutely explain them in the review, but if I loved, I loved it 😉 So, it’s a little of both for me, I suppose!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! I totally see that! I was just getting to the point where I was giving a book I LIKED 5 stars, and then there would be a book I LOVED, and I would look back at my other ratings and thing “compared to this one it should get more than a 5” because I liked it so much better. Thanks for stopping by Shannon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

