Quotes: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare #WillHerondaleWisdom

clockworkangel

I reread The Infernal Devices Trilogy recently, and plan to do an overall review soon, but (you know me) I am also in love with so many quotes from this series, so here are some of my favorites from Clockwork Angel.

Clockwork Angel Quotes

“If no one in the entire world cared about you, did you really exist at all?” (17) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

One of my favorite things about Tessa was all of her wise sayings and ideas. It is one of the reasons why I think her and Will are a better couple. Sorry Jessa shippers, but William Herondale is probably the most bookalicious babe out there.

“let me give you a piece of advice. The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs.” (40) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

This quote is just so purely Will, and I love Will, so of course I HAVE to include it.

“Beauty fades, but cooking is eternal.” (86) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

Another beautifully Will quote. Also true. Food is the true way to love.

“But now I cannot help but wonder if perhaps the life I had before was the dream and all this was the truth.” (195) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

“She had such a strong presence, Tessa thought, that it was hard to remember sometimes how physically small she was, how birdlike and tiny.” (196) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

This defines Charlotte and it reminds me of myself (or who I want to be). I am tiny (5’2″), but I like to think that my personality and boldness makes up for my lack of physical size.

“Sophie said to me once that she was glad she had been scarred. She said that whoever loved her now would love her true self, and not her pretty face.” (197) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I love this because Sophie has been hurt in so many ways, and the fact that she doesn’t let her scar define her, but is actually grateful for it makes me appreciate her as a character so much more.

“Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.” (224) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

AHH! This is such a wonderful idea. (Will Herondale wisdom right here)! I am making #WillHerondaleWisdom a hashtag.

“‘Whatever you are physically,’ he said, ‘male or female, strong or weak, ill or healthy–all those things matter less than what your heart contains. If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. Whatever the color, the shape, the design of the shade that conceals it, the flame inside the lamp remains the same. You are that flame.’” (283) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I love all of the moments where Jem gets super passionate and goes into a big speech. He is the type of person who doesn’t talk much, but when he does he really makes it count.

“It’s all right to love someone who doesn’t love you back, as long as they’re worth you loving them. As long as they deserve it.” (297) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I don’t need to comment on this. Beautiful words from beautiful Sophie.

“It is as great a thing to love as to be loved. Love is not something that can be wasted.” (470) -Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

 

Let’s chat: What is your favorite quote from Clockwork Angel? Did you like The Infernal Devices series? Will or Jem? Did you like The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices better?

6 thoughts on “Quotes: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare #WillHerondaleWisdom

  1. I adore these quotes. I ADORE THEM ALL. And it just reminds me how awesome this book and series is. xD (I think I loved Will and Jem equally!?! Gah. It was hard to choose, that’s for sure…) Ohhhh, I am 5’1. SO I HEAR YA WITH THE SHORTNESS.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

