Movie Review & Discussion: Mockingjay Part 2

THE FIRST SECTION OF THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER FREE.

Hype & Expectation

I went into Mockingjay Part 2 with high expectations.The movies have been amazing and pretty close to the books the entire series, and I didn’t expect the last one to deviate.

First Impression

It was amazing. I really enjoyed it. That being said, I did think they made some of the deaths abrupt, and I didn’t feel much because of them. I remember crying in the books when certain things happened to certain characters, but I didn’t even get close to crying during the movie. I guess this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it didn’t make me super attached to the characters. The action and graphics were pretty good, and some of the pods made me jump. The acting (as always) was great. Seriously though, probably some of my favorite actors ever.

I would probably give the movie 4.8 stars!

The Hunger Games Reread

I tried to reread The Hunger Games series again before seeing it a second time, but I didn’t get through them all. I got through The Hunger Games and about half of Catching Fire.

“I am not pretty. I am not beautiful. I am as radiant as the sun.” (121) -Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

“Only I keep wishing I could think of a way to… to show the Capitol they don’t own me. That I’m more than just a piece in their Games,” (142) -Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

“I do not want to lose the boy with the bread.” (297) -Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

“Katniss Everdeen, the girl who was on fire, you have provided a spark that, left unattended, may grow to an inferno that destroys Panem,” (23) -Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire

*****

SPOILER ALERT!

SPOILER ALERT!

SPOILER ALERT!

THIS SECOND SECTION CONTAINS SPOILERS TO THE BOOKS AND MOVIES! DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU ALREADY KNOW WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN! Seriously, though. If you haven’t read the books yet, you should really read them!

Consider yourself significantly warned.

Second Viewing of Mockingjay Part 2

I’m pretty sure it was even better the second time. I noticed a lot of things I didn’t at first and it is just so well done.

I felt like the whole ending to The Hunger Games series was a little anticlimactic and rushed. The whole thing starts because Katniss is trying to save her sister from going into The Hunger Games. Katniss volunteers and then goes through two (practically three) hunger games AND SURVIVES (whatta fighter). The end happens so fast and we find out that practically everything was for nothing.

I loved the star squad and all of their adventures and the pods. OH MAN! They did so good with the pods in the movies. The creepy mutt things made me jump so much. The star squad goes on this gigantic treck through the capital in order to save the districts and kill Snow, etc. BUT IT IS ALL FOR NOTHING. Sure, they learn a lot along the way, and they develop as characters, but so many people die–Boggs and Finnick, and they died for nothing.

When everything explodes and Prim dies, and Katniss catches on fire (literally girl on fire, haha), then the rest of the rebels and district 13 take over. Basically everything the star squad did had no impact on the actual rebellion, and people died for nothing. I suppose that is how life is and maybe that is what Collins was getting at, but it was just a little sad that it ended that way. I heard Collins was rushed into writing Mockingjay, and I feel like it shows through the plot.

The mutt scene was beautiful. Just gorgeous. Everyone was taking out so many, but you can just tell (I COULD TELL) that not everyone was going to make it. There were too many mutts. (Yes, I have read the books many times, so I knew who was going to die, but I hoped (for the first time practically ever) that maybe just maybe they would change some of it.

When I read the scene with Finnick’s death in the book, I balled. I love Finnick so much and he became one of my favorite characters very quickly in the books. Finnick deserved so much better. He died so abruptly, and I guess I didn’t realize how abruptly until the movies because I had tried to make it seem a little better in my head. The scene where Katniss is watching Finnick get destroyed and then says nightlock to blow it up is just so heart wrenching. Then the scene with the letter from Annie killed me.

When I first read the books, I was spoiled for Prim’s death, and so it never really affected me a whole lot. I’m not even sure if I cried. I felt like Prim was always just a symbol for everything Katniss loved and was fighting for and so I didn’t feel her death like I did the others.

I didn’t cry in the movies, which was surprising because I thought I would, but I got really close when Katniss was screaming at Buttercup about Prim’s death. Jennifer Lawrence is such an amazing actress and she showed so much emotion during this entire series. When she realized Prim hadn’t made it, she kinda just shoved all of her feelings down, but I knew she was going to explode at some point. She did so well (and so did Buttercup). She just screams at Prim’s cat and the cat just sat there like “tell me all about it” and it was almost as if he was just listening as she threw plates at him and was just destroying everything. Then she finally snaps and just cries while holding Buttercup and Buttercup just takes it.

At the end I loved how Katniss and Peeta were sitting in the doorway and just watching the rain because it’s a reoccurring thing for them, and it was almost like life was semi normal as they were sitting in their old (victor’s) houses even though nothing was ever going to be “normal” for anyone again.

Gale. Oh Gale. I started out (in the very beginning) being a Gale fan, but then I realized he’s a jerk. Even once Peeta was introduced, I still liked Gale, but towards the end (especially after we find out he in a roundabout way killed Prim and a bunch of children.) I started to really dislike him. Gale was obnoxious and every scene he was in was basically just him chasing Katniss and hoping he could get her and saying that when she kisses him it doesn’t count (which basically it doesn’t because she only kisses him when he is in extreme pain)

The Katniss complex: she only kisses/ shows affection for people (Gale and Peeta) when they are in pain. I think this is a part of the reason why she picks Peeta because he is always in pain. Thoughts?

The table voting at the end was really good, but I don’t like the fact that they voted to have another Hunger Games with the Capital’s children. I understand why they did it, but I feel like it is just repeating history and repeating the horrors they were trying to get away from, but just with different people in charge. I suppose history repeats itself, but I like to think that Paylor changed it and decided not to have one.

Johanna! Jena Malone did so FANTASTICALLY! She was so wonderfully insane and I really wish they would have gone into her and Katniss’ relationship more because those were some of my favorite times. I love how Johanna never deals with any of Katniss’ crap, and just treats her like a normal person. She doesn’t let Katniss constantly wallow in her little pity parties and whining, but tries to help her get over herself. (Sorry, I really couldn’t stand all of Katniss’ complaining and whining).

The relationship between Katniss and Snow is so infuriating, but they honestly do understand each other. When Katniss is in the greenhouse and Snow says “We agreed not to lie to each other,” and she knows he isn’t lying but that it was district 13 and Coin, and possibly Gale that blew up the children and her sister. WELL DONE! *claps slowly*

The Jen-Josh-Liam dynamic is so great because they are all friends off set and have chemistry because of that.

Overall Opinions

The fact that one of the worst parts of the movie was that it stuck so closely to the book is astounding. They (the movie people) did so fantastically with the entire series and I have enjoyed it soo much!

Let’s talk: What did you think about it? Which was your favorite book? Do you agree with me about the ending? Do you like The Hunger Games series? Who was your favorite character? Actor? 

9 thoughts on “Movie Review & Discussion: Mockingjay Part 2

  1. Nice review!

    *spoilers, don’t read the rest of this comment if you havn’t read the books*

    I agree with not feeling Prim’s death as much, I wasn’t spoiled when I was reading the books but I wasn’t as attached to her as I was with charaters like Finnick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I still haven’t seen the new movie… or Mocking Jay Part 1 lol (on my list to get to! ha) but you really broke it down! I love your comment about Katniss choosing Peeta because he’s always in pain- I feel that, plus while reading the books I never liked Gale to begin with. Although I know I did flip flop because in Catching Fire Peeta was kinda flat and annoying to me. I noe know I must get to seeing these movies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

