Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Favorite Authors 2015

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

*I have pictures of the covers of the books I have read this year by the author (note: these are clearly not all of the books the author has written, just the select few I have read this year.)*

Not really in any particular order, but I do have separate honorable mentions at the end.

Favorite New-To-Me Authors 2015

Tahereh Mafi

Oh. My. Goodness. Tahereh Mafi is fantastic! She writes so lyrically and her characters are lovely (Warner is a bookalicious babe and Kenji is hilarious). I enjoyed the Shatter Me series so so much! If you haven’t read it yet, I highly suggest it.

Marissa Meyer

I have started to fall in love with fairy tale retellings and Marissa Meyer does them right. She creates a beautiful world and I really enjoyed the plots of the Lunar Chronicles. I still need to read Winter, but I can’t wait.

Rainbow Rowell

 

e&p

Rainbow Rowell is the queen of contemporaries! I have only read Eleanor and Park, but that was all it took for me to fall in love with her believable plots and characters. Many times, contemporaries fall into the “too fairy tale mixed with hallmark movie” trap, but Rowell stays away from this and kept me wanting more.

Sarah J. Maas

(I am reading Heir of Fire right now, and hopefully I will read Queen of Shadows and the Assassin’s Blade this month.)

AHHH! (Random Fangirling Noises play in background). One of my favorite new (to me) authors is Sarah J. Maas. I could go on for days about her and how amazing her writing is. Her characters are so well rounded and well built. There is character development for almost everyone (even all the supporting characters, which makes me question their supporting-ness). She is a master at world building and her imagery makes me feel like I am there. I can’t help but fall in love/ connect to most of the characters. Even though the books are all over 500 pages (an estimate) I find myself flying through them, and wanting more.

Read my Throne of Glass review here. (This is one of the first reviews I ever wrote, so don’t judge me too hard.) 🙂

Read my Crown of Midnight review here.

Mary E. Pearson

Talk about plot twists. I won’t say much else besides that, but just wow. Plus, she is great at world building and I read both books in 2 days (they are rather chunky), which says a lot about how into them I was and how much I loved them.

Read my The Kiss of Deception review here.

Read my favorite The Heart of Betrayal quotes here.

 

Lois Lowry

First things first, The Giver is wonderful, right? How many people have read it *raises hands*, now, even more important: How many people have read all 4 in the Giver series. It makes me a little sad that so many people haven’t read the entire series because they really complete each other. So many people I have talked to have read The Giver, but not any of the others. I suggest you pick them up whenever you get the chance. Now that I’m done with that… There is a reason why she won so many awards for her writing. It is a wonderful world and idea and it really makes people think.

Morgan Matson

scs

This was such a cute (and sad at times) book. I read it last summer, and it is the perfect little summer read. I cannot wait to read more Morgan Matson!

Honorable Mentions

Kiera Cass

I feel like The Selection series is really controversial. Most people either love it or hate it. I loved it. Yes it is very unrealistic, and some people thought America was obnoxious but I think Aspen was worse, BUT it is a cute story. Maxon is SO patient and I really enjoyed his character. I also loved it because one of my friends was reading it at the same time as me (not very many of my friends are into reading, so I was super excited). It is just a nice little Prince love story and it was perfect for the mood I was in.

The Heir was a whole other story for me. It was unneeded and the main character was TERRIBLE. I hate that little brat.

Anyway, Cass is really good at making cutesy love stories.

Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

Scotland. Magic. What else can a reader ask for. The Doon series is so good. I just adore Scotland, and when it takes place in a magical realm with princes. It was really lovely, and the relationships in it weren’t super unrealistic.

Read my Doon Review here.

Read my Destined for Doon review here.

Read my Shades of Doon review here.

Max Lucado

mathgc

This was super Hallmark-movie-esk, and normally (unless I was in the mood) I might not like that, but it was very well written. It is the perfect book for Christmastime.

Read my Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe review here.

 

Let’s Talk: Who are some of your favorite authors? Feel free to leave your TTT in the comments. I would love to check them out. Do you agree with any of my authors? 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Favorite Authors 2015

Leave a Reply

