(Mini) Review: The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

111
Title: The Gap of Time
Author: Jeanette Winterson
Series: No
Published: October 6, 2015 by Hogarth
Length: 273 pages (hardcover)
Source: Blogging for Books

Review

Honestly, I am writing this review out of obligation. I don’t like giving bad reviews because I feel like it doesn’t do anyone any good. There were 3 sections of the book, and three sections in my notes, so that is how I am going to quickly organize this review. This is not a very cohesive review. I basically just put all of my notes into sentences, but bear with me.

 

At the beginning I enjoyed it. It recapped what the original The Winter’s Tale was about which was good since I have never read it before. Then it actually started and I almost stopped reading. I almost marked it as DNF and was coming up with my paragraphs as to why, but for some profound reason (and out of pressure since it was a review copy) I decided to power through. I’m not sure if I regret my decision.

 

It was very uncomfortable to read. So much that I just skipped a good chunk of it and moved on to the next section. There was some language. Not sure I would have picked it up if I knew it would be like this. It is vulgar and repulsive and inappropriate. I got to the point where I wasn’t even skimming the bad parts, just skipping ahead.

 

I really didn’t like this book at first because it was so profane, but it has cleaned up a lot, and I am starting to enjoy it. The plot is very solid, and I am enjoying all of the plot twists. It is a very modern story. I might like it more if I had read The Winter’s Tale. I’m liking it more and more. The story is actually really good, and now there is much less profanity. I hate Leo’s character & how sexual it can be. Shep’s character is very profound. I don’t know what I think. I think that it was sexual and profane and awful, but also a good plot and interesting. I still dreaded reading it, and would never read it again. 2 stars.

 

Quotes

“If there is no God I won’t be any worse off when I’m dead. Just dead. If there is a God, well, OK, I get what you’re saying: so where is this God?” (16) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“I discover that grief means living with someone who is not there.” (19) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“In any case, games are too passive. Books change the way people think about the world.” (39) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“Just because they are alive doesn’t make them real.” (150) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“Do you ever walk in the rain just for the pleasure of getting wet?” (161) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“He doesn’t take a photo or a video because he wants to remember–by which he means he wants to misremember because the moment is made up of what the camera can’t capture.” (237) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“And the things that change us forever happen without us knowing they would happen.” (253) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

 

“It takes so little time to change a lifetime and it takes a lifetime to understand the change.” (253) -Jeanette Winterson, The Gap of Time

//

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review. All opinions are my own. That being said you might love the story. For me it was too sexual and profane, but that probably won’t bother some people as much as it does me.

 

5 thoughts on “(Mini) Review: The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

  1. I’ll have to see if I like it. I also requested it from Blogging for Books. And what you mentioned seems really deterring, so I think I might not like it. Not to be biased, but I agree with the whole profanity/graphicness being off putting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. I’m interested to see what you think about it. It was bad enough for me that I was skipping a lot of it. I hope you like it better than I did. It does get better after the first section, though. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

