(Mini) Review: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

assassin'sblade
Title: The Assassin’s Blade
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass (#0.1-0.5)
Published: March 4, 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Length: 435 (hardcover)
Source: Library

 

*This review contains spoilers for the Throne of Glass series.

I have this weird thing where I will not read a novella first. Actually, I would prefer to read them last. I feel like they give the reader a look into a character that could possibly spoil the book for them (i.e. The Shatter Me novella Unite Me). This one actually didn’t since it was about Sam and Celaena and it all predates the rest of the series. It was a great insight into Celaena’s character and I loved getting to know more about who Celaena was and what motivated her to do many of the things she did.

Overall, I loved getting a look into Celaena’s character and the motivations that created Adarlan’s Assassin. I would give these novellas 3/5 stars.

 

A random collection of my grumblings whilst reading the series:

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (#0.1)

It’s nice that Sam and Celaena didn’t start out in love. They actually were at each other’s throats all of the time. I am excited to see what/how they fall in love. It’s also really exciting to see into the character that was so often alluded to, but I never knew much about (other than the fact that he died and it destroyed Celaena).

 

The Assassin and the Healer (#0.2)

This one is about a healer named Yrene Towers. All of the little things Celaena does shows how much compassion she has even though she’s an assassin. Also the way she wears her punishment from Arobynn as “a reminder to herself” makes me hate him even more for how he controls and creates and abuses all of the children assassins that are under his care. CHILDREN! I hope Yrene does something with her life and gets to study to be a healer. I wonder if we will see her again later in the series?

 

The Assassin and the Desert (#0.3)

I didn’t know that the torturous attack on Celaena and Sam happened so early in their friendship. Did Sam like Celaena even back then? Maybe that’s why he had to have 3 fully trained assassins hold him back as they beat Celaena. I wonder what he was screaming at her? Ansel! Again Maas does it with the whole complexity-of-characters thing. I am astonished.

 

Celaena and Ansel are such adorable friends. I love how civilized Celaena can be. Through all of the arrogance and assassinations, she is really just a 17 year old girl and having Ansel as a friend helped to show this. She acts much older, but it was nice to see her have a friend (especially a female friend since she never really has many of those).

 

SPOILERS FROM THIS POINT ON!!! DO NOT CONTINUE READING IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!!!

*****

****

***

**

*

This one has been my favorite so far. Ansel’s betrayal was awful (not very shocking though), but the fact that she tried to protect Celaena since she was the only one who had ever been a friend. The master’s welcoming Celaena to come back if she ever got to leave the North. His giving her gold and saying his son Illias would appreciate it if she came back too. 😉 AW he is such a sweetie. 🙂 I hope they don’t all die and that Celaena will get to go back at some point.

 

The Assassin and the Underworld (#0.4)

Sam and Celaena are so cute! Sam is a keeper and he is probably the nicest guy Celaena ever meets.

 

The Assassin and the Empire (#0.5)

I know she was blinded by her love but I feel like the great Celaena Sardothien should have seen that coming. I expected to be more upset about it all. I felt a lot of anger towards Arobynn and I thought it was awful, but I didn’t cry over Sam or anything. I’m a little disappointed.

 

Let’s Discuss: What did you think about this book? About Celaena? About Sam? About Arobynn?

18 thoughts on “(Mini) Review: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

      • AHHH! Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows are SOO good! At least you have them to look forward to, because I read The Assassin’s Blade after all of them (that are currently out) and now I have to wait for the next one… 😦 I really hope you love the whole series as much as I adore it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know! I’ve just heard amazing things. I took forever to read Crown of Midnight! Like forever. Even though I loved it I just fell out of the world but these novellas have pulled me right back in! Isn’t the next one supposed to come out this year, even though there is no title or no cover or no finalised release date!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think Crown of Midnight has been my *least favorite so far… It wasn’t bad, I just like the others better. I would love to know what you end up thinking about it all. Yes, but the lack of information makes me really nervous… I still need to read ACOTAR though, and I hear A Court of Mist and Fury comes out this year.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah it did feel slightly like a filler book to catch you up on the world, the type of magic and all of that jazz. But now in heir of fire we are in a new place with hopefully some new character. I’m very excited. Yeah I haven got to ACOTAR, I own it but i heard mixed reviews and I’m not sure if I want to pick it up or not!

        Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 🙂 🙂 I really hope you love it (or either way we need to talk about it when you finish!) I don’t even own ACOTAR yet, but I really want to read it because I am (a bit) obsessed (okay, a lot) with Sarah J. Maas right now…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

