Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1)

And that concludes my first read-along ever! I had a lot of fun, and even though we didn’t have as many conversations as I wish we would have, it was still fun to know other blogging friends were reading the book with you. See the original #RedQueenRA post here, and follow Tasha @ Head in the Clouds, Heart in the Books and Mel @ Dat Little Blog. I can’t wait for future read-alongs.

red queen

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen #1
Published: February 10, 2015 by HarperTeen
Length: 383 pages (hardcover)
Source: bought

Goodreads.

At the beginning I was very disappointed because there was so much hype around it, and I expected a lot more. I lowered my expectations while reading it and ended up really enjoying it. Probably the best way to read this book is with absolutely no expectations. Red Queen is very hyped, and that ruined it for me. It’s good, yes. Great? Not so much.

Liked

  • Lucas. I wish they would’ve had more of him as a character. He had potential.
  • They didn’t force a love story. Even though it was built up around some characters that were “in love” or betrothed, they stuck to the I-don’t-need-no-man thing, and I liked that.
  • “And we will rise up, Red as the dawn.” (36)
  • “Anyone can betray anyone.”
  • I like the idea of the scarlet guard and rebellion and the whole premise of the book, I just wish there had been more.

Didn’t Like

  • It was very predictable for 85% of the story. I knew 90% of the characters were hiding things or lying, and I *almost* always guessed what was going to happen before it happened.
  • It reminded me of The Selection except with super powers. Her indecision between Cal and Maven drove me crazy and the fact that Cal was always so underdeveloped as a character and I never really got the chance to know him makes me sad. WHYY?
  • Cal and Maven as characters were weak. I never really liked either of them very much (okay, maybe Maven a little, but it didn’t last very long).
    • I actually wrote this in my notes: “Maven is a sweetie and I kind of feel bad for him.” WOW WOW WOW. no.
  • Mare is bland and even though she has fire she’s just like every other protagonist in books right now.
  • Maybe it’s just because the last few books I read were Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass series) and TFIOS, but all of the characters seemed underdeveloped and weren’t very complex.
  • The world was there, but could have been built up so much more.

I gave it 3 stars on goodreads, but I feel like my rating doesn’t mean much. It was good, but seemed too ordinary and was too similar to lots of other books.
What did you think about Red Queen? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Let me know in comments.

15 thoughts on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1)

  1. YES. My thoughts exactly! I thought this was a well-written and entertaining book, but it didn’t really add anything to the genre, you know? Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way Aubrey! I saw almost every turn coming and I think it could have done with more backstory. I don’t think I’m Team anyone right now. I’m still debating whether to give it 3 or 3.5 stars. But I cannot wait to get started on Glass Sword.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I gave this 4 stars because although the dystopia story type has been done time and again, I still liked the author’s writing. She did grip me enough to want to continue the series. And that says a lot because I’m not jumping to continue Divergent like the Queen series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed. I enjoyed it. I just thought that it was too similar to The Selection series, and then practically every other book. Also the characters weren’t super developed. I am excited to read more, though. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed the book actually and I think I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. At the time, it wasn’t like anything I’d read yet. Although now, I totally get the Hunger Games and Selection vibes for sure. The writing style was the redeeming factor for me, I think. There was just something there that kept me turning the pages. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

