Top Ten Tuesday: Historical Settings You’d Love To See

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Where

Books are almost always set in America, the UK, or Australia. I would love to see more variety as far as the place they are set in. When I read a book, I travel to the place it is written in, and even though I have traveled a lot through books, I would love to see more diversity.

I’m not sure exactly where, but that’s the point, isn’t it? I want to learn about more places I don’t know about.

A few I would be interested in seeing would be:

  • Africa: EVERYWHERE in Africa. I have never read a book that takes place in Africa and that is AN ENTIRE CONTINENT that is missing from my travel log.
  • Asia: Okay, now I am just naming continents (although I still don’t understand why Europe and Asia are considered two separate continents).
  • Scotland & Ireland: I can never get too much of these two.
  • Russia
  • Germany
  • Wales: Why not?
  • Poland?
  • I am just listing random places by this point, but you get the idea… If you can write (which if you have fingers you should be capable), please write books that are set somewhere different than the normal.

When

Also I’d like to see more time periods. I feel like there is a lot in the 1800’s and a lot of now and a lot of dystopian, but I would love to have more.

Let me know when and where you would like to see more of in books. Also feel free to link your TTT in the comments.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Historical Settings You’d Love To See

  1. You mentioned Poland! Good choice 😀
    I could recommend you few good books set here… as long as you speak Polish. The best ones seem to have no English translation yet, except the Witcher, but it’s not strictly set here, although you can see similarities to some places.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are you from Poland? That is so cool! I sadly don’t speak Polish (only English and a little French). Hmmm. Maybe that will be the next language I *attempt* to learn… The Witcher? What’s it about? Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • oooh I know the “attemts” I’m trying to learn Japanese, but I lack motivation 😛

        as for the Witcher… so there are still people who haven’t heard about it? 😀 Awesome, more of you to convert to Witchery :P. It’s a great fantasy series by Sapkowski about a certain mutated dude that fights monsters and gets messed up with politics a lot even though he shouldn’t. There’s all kind of magig, fight, creatures there including human shifting dragon, a certain awesome vampire. I love this series. If you’ve never read it, start with the short stories, like The Last Wish, but I don’t know if this one was translated, if not – the first part of the saga is https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6415386-blood-of-elves

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree there are SO many books set in America it’s like I want to go somewhere else now! I read a novel that had flashbacks and some parts in Africa that was kinda cool, it was a Jodi Picoult novel about elephants called Leaving Time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

