Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

hof
Title: Heir of Fire
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #3
Published: September 2, 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Length: 562 pages (hardcover)
Source: bought

Goodreads.

*This review may contain spoilers to the previous books (Throne of Glass, and Crown of Midnight), but doesn’t contain any spoilers to Heir of Fire.

 

As soon as I finished Heir of Fire, I really wanted to start Queen of Shadows right away, but I told myself I needed to write this review first or else it might never get done. (And yet, I still didn’t finish it or post it for a long time… oops.)

Characters

ChaolHate. Him. I liked him for about 2 seconds, and then I realized how awful he was. UGH! Coward without any ideas of his own.

Aedion: He is so much more complex than I thought & is always worried about what Aelin will think of him and his reputation. His little persona he has going on is so funny. It is almost like he is two people. 

Manon, Abraxos,  & the 13At first the witch clan parts was my least favorite, but by the end I was in love with Manon and Abraxos’ friendship and I am super excited to see what she ends up doing. I hope they cause a lot of trouble.

Celaena: She was much flatter than normal, but I guess that could be partially because of her not being the only main character. Even though she didn’t seem quite as fantastic as normal, she was still her wonderful snarky self, and she still grew up as a character tremendously. She is almost becoming a different person. I guess she is…

Celaena’s love interests

At the beginning I liked the concept of Dorian and Celaena (mostly because of how much I hated Chaol), then I liked their friendship. I’m not really sure what it is, but something clicked and neither of them really thought of each other romantically anymore.
Then there is Rowan. Rowan Rowan Rowan Rowan. I wasn’t sure what to think about him at first, but then the chemistry him and Aelin have is MAGIC! I love their banter, and I’m not sure if anything will ever happen between them, but they are adorable! They are both super vulgar and violent with each other, but at the same time they would do anything for each other. LOVE IT!

Top 5 Reasons I love Rowan & Aelin

1. One of my favorite things about the Rowan-Aelin dynamic is their love-hate relationship. They are both so snarky and sarcastic and fight like no one else, but they are truly wonderful together and make each other better. Their hate for each other is almost love.

“It gives me comfort to know that people like you have a special place in hell waiting for them.” said Celaena. “Tell me something I don’t already know.” replied Rowan. (284)

2. Rowan and Aelin help heal each other. They have such deep wounds, but together they are healing and becoming better. Aelin NEEDS someone and Rowan is sometimes there for her…

“‘You left me,’ she repeated. Maybe it was only out of blind terror at the abyss opening up again around her, but she whispered, ‘I have no one left. No one.’ She hadn’t realized how much she meant it, how much she needed it to be true, until now.” (276)

They are both such shattered people and they are both violent and volatile. They help heal each other:

“Maybe we could find the way back together.” (304)

“To whatever end?” (426)

“She’d burned him again. And yet he had held on to her–had run all the way here and not let go once.” (364)

3. Rowan’s compassion and the fact that he FEELS so much under that steely facade makes me love him so much more. He really cares about Aelin and he cares about all of the things she has been through even if he acts like he can’t stand her at times.

“‘For whatever it’s worth, I don’t think you would destroy the world from spite.’ His voice turned hard. ‘But I also think you like to suffer. You collect scars because you want proof that you are paying for whatever sins you’ve committed. And I know this because I’ve been doing the same d- thing for two hundred years. Tell me, do you think you will go to some blessed Afterworld, or do you expect a burning hell? You’re hoping for hell–because how could you face them in the Afterworld? Better to suffer, to be d-ed for eternity and–” (375)

4. They understand each other because they are so similar, and are practically the same person.

5. THEIR SILENT CONVERSATIONS MAKE MY LIFE 🙂 🙂 🙂

Quotes

“She was still on the fall down. There was no getting up, because there was no bottom.” (103)

“Perhaps it’s just as bad there. Perhaps it’s worse. But I do what I have to do, to get through it… I have to believe it’s better. Somewhere, it’s better than this.” (422)

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.” (499)

OVERALL

I absolutely loved Heir of Fire. This whole series is easily one of my new favorites, and even though there are flaws, I would give it 5 stars because it kept me so enthralled and I am still dying to read the next book and I am so immersed in the world and the characters.

 

Well, that was a really long and rambling review, but I just have so much to fangirl over for this series. What did you think about Heir of Fire? Who do you ship with Aelin (if it’s not apparent, I like Rowan)? Let me know in comments.

4 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

