Review: (Essentials & Top Thoughts Whilst Reading) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (reread)

tfios
Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Series: No
Published: January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
Length: 313 pages (hardcover)
Source: Bought (OF COURSE I BOUGHT THIS BOOK! IT IS 5 STARS FANFLIPPIN’TASTIC!)

Essential When Reading The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Paper and a pen to write down all of the wonderful quotes.
  2. Kleenexes that way you can cry to your heart’s content.
  3. Chocolate. Lots and lots and lots of chocolate.
  4. Hand sanitizer, so that way after you’re done crying (haha just kidding you’re never done crying) you can go back to chocolate.

Five Thoughts While/After Reading TFIOS

  1. It’s a little aggravating because I’m crying so hard that I cannot see the page anymore and I want to continue reading but I can’t see it.
  2. And now that I am finished I must lay here and contemplate my existence in comparison to the wonder that is Augustus waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster.
  3. This is so stinkin’ relatable. Was Green a teenage girl recently, because I personally have thought and felt and experienced so many of the things she has? SHE HAS CANCER and yet she is one of the most relatable book characters ever.
  4. The first time I read The Fault in Our Stars was the very beginning of summer 2014. At the time, I was so moved by the profound ideas and beliefs that can be none other than John Green. I felt like it was a book that could change people’s lives. It makes you think, you know? Then I spent a long time discussing with my friends about “how on earth can John Green understand teenage girls so well? It’s like he was one or something…” Now I realize how purely off this comment was. John Green doesn’t understand what it is like to be a human girl, he understands what it is like to be a human. He understands love and loss and pain and intelligence. So many times I have heard people refer to TFIOS as “a girl book”. To that I scoff *humpf* because it is as much a girl book as any other. People get caught up in the romance and Augustus Waters and he is wonderful and all, but in my opinion that is not what it is about. I feel like people get as much out of a book as they put in.
  5. I am never going to be the same again after reading this book.
7 thoughts on “Review: (Essentials & Top Thoughts Whilst Reading) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (reread)

  1. I’ve got to reread this sometime soon. I remember I read this for the first time when I was 13 and I thought it was the best thing ever, I finished it in one sitting and cried the whole night. It was like someone finally got me, I was in love with the book, I can only hope I still love it that much but it’ll be interesting. I absolutely agree with you’re essentials.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I was around that age when I first read it too. I remember that I had planned on only reading a couple of chapters because I had church the next morning, but then I read the entire thing and I just remember sobbing at four in the morning. I feel like I caught a lot more references than I did the first time (to physics and other various things). I hope you get to reread it soon! Thanks for stopping by!🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

