Movie & Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey & Read-Along Wrap Up

5thwave

Title: The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancy
Series: The 5th Wave #1
Published: May 7, 2013
Length: 457 pages (hardcover)
Source: Library (seriously, people should go there more often… just saying.)

Goodreads.

The Movie

I made the *mistake of seeing the movie first.

First impression: It was SO good. I thought that a lot of the characters were really flat, but I enjoyed the storyline.

“After reading the book” impression: It was action packed and I think they did a good job of putting some parts together so it isn’t a million hours long, but I think that they made a lot of the characters one dimensional and flat.

What’s with the whole Cassie-Ben thing in the story? No. Just no. Cassie is supposed to be awkward and obsessed with Ben, BUT HE DOESN’T KNOW IT. He doesn’t even know her. The conversations they end up having are amazingly awkward because CASSIE IS AWKWARD. She also wouldn’t have been at that party in the beginning of the movie. What was with their interaction? It did nothing to add to the story, and he didn’t acknowledge it when they met again so it was useless.

Evan Walker was **WAY less creepy in the movie.

RINGER! Ringer is one of my favorite characters in the book, and they make her character so much LESS than she could be in the movie. She is sassy and B.A. and cold in the book. It is so fantastically wonderful. In the movie, she is just bossy and controlling and Ben doesn’t even make any moves. The lame things he says to her in the book to try and get her to smile MAKE MY LIFE. It was some of my favorite parts.

I guess I thought the movie was better before I read the book, but it was still pretty good.

*Note this isn’t really a mistake, I just like to read books before I see the movies. I saw the movie first because my dad took me and even though I don’t normally see movies before reading the book, I really wanted to go. **Don’t get me wrong, he was still creepy, but not Evan Walker level creepy, just normal creepy.

The Book

Overall

The 5th Wave is a really good book. 3.5/5ish stars? I loved the concept and storyline, but it took me so long to read. The characters were average.

Likes

  • The switching narrators gave a lot of new perspectives. The voice of the story added so much to it. The switching narrators are a nice surprise every section to find out who’s telling the story. The voice is so different for each of them.
      • Cassie is so funny, and she acknowledges the real problems. She is so sarcastic and witty and I love her narrations.
      • Zombie is a much flatter character, but the way he treats Nugget is adorable and makes me like him a little more.
  • Ringer  is so BA. The whole Zombie trying to get Ringer to smile thing was really funny and made me like Ringer even more.
  • I saw the movie and I was still surprised at parts.
  • The awkward moment when Cassie knew who Ben was, but he didn’t know who she was was amazing. THEN Evan comes and knows who he is and tells Ben that Cassie told him about Ben was amazing. The humiliation and awkwardness of the whole situation basically describes my life.

Somewhere Inbetween

  • Evan is like the stalker you don’t mind. Well, he is still SUPER CREEPY, but… I can’t really imagine Evan and Cassie romantically, because I think Evan is too ridiculous and (murderous) puppy-like. The things Evan says could be considered sweet if he hadn’t stalked Cassie and wasn’t SO CREEPY.

Gripes

  • It seemed a little slow paced. It took me for-ev-er to read and that drove me crazy.
  • Zombie/Ben is a flat character. The only good parts with him were with Ringer or Nugget, or when Cassie was being super awkward with him, but that all had to do with other characters.

Quotes

“The thing about killing is you don’t know if you can actually do it until you actually do it.” (11) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.” (12) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“But I think he knew in the end it wouldn’t be the lucky ones left standing.” (75) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“Even the most sensitive person can get used to even the most insensitive thing.” (138) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“I don’t know what to say. So I don’t say anything. Too many people say something when they really have nothing to say.” (271) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“‘I had it all wrong,’ he says. ‘Before I found you, I thought the only way to hold on was to find something to live for. It isn’t. To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.’” (281) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“It’s the strong who remain, the bent but unbroken, like the iron rods that used to give this concrete its strength.” (446) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

“What doesn’t kill us sharpens us. Hardens us. Schools us.” (446) -Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

Read-Along Wrap Up

updated 5thwavereadalong.png

I got the chance to read this book in a read-along, and although my past few weeks were crazy so I was super behind, I got to have a few good conversations with Trang.

*start reading from the bottom and go up-may contain minor spoilers.*

2212

I wish I would have gotten to have more conversations with everyone (not just Trang), but I am so glad Trang and I got to discuss so much even though I was so behind. I really enjoyed this read-along and I feel like every read-along I do gets better because I figure out what works and what doesn’t.

Be like Evan Walker, and stalk these lovelies who participated:

Trang: Blog // Instagram // Goodreads

Tasha: Blog // Instagram // Goodreads // Twitter

Carmen: Twitter

Feel free to stalk me as well: Goodreads // Twitter

UPCOMING READ-ALONGS

Trang and I will be reading either The Wrath and the Dawn or The Night Circus (or both) the last week in February (22-29). Let me know if you are interested in joining us in the comments.

Let’s talk: What did you think about The 5th wave? How do you think it compared to the movie? Who was your favorite character? Do you agree with me about the creepiness of Evan or are you in love with his character? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Movie & Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey & Read-Along Wrap Up

  1. Yayy !! 😀 it was such a fun time reading and discussing it with you hahaha 😀 ! And omg.. In the movie they dare put Ben and Cassie as a romance possibility ?! :O nuuuu uhh. Doesnt sound right LOL Cant wait to see the movie haha altho it may be in like 2 weeks 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. It’s not super obvious, but he knows who she is and then when Evan comes when they are breaking Nugget/Sammy out, she kisses him and Ben just goes “So, Cassie, who’s this.” and then they share a few looks, and I don’t like how they made Ben in the movie… I had so much fun too. Sorry I wasn’t very active, and that it took me so long. You should definitely see the movie. It was still super good. Thanks for stopping by, Trang!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ohh noo they just remove the funny aspect of where Ben doesn’t know who she is damn it LOL No problem at all !! 🙂 I know how busy we can be and I’m still glad we get to discuss it even if we didn’t finish at the same time ! Superr Fun ! 😍

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow I dont know where my comment went HAAH but I wanted to say that it was real fun doing the readalong with you !! 🙂 Woohoo and omg in the movie they wanted to Make a thing with Ben and Cassie ?? Nuuuu uuh. Thats wrong LOL Altho I can only watch the movie in like 2 weeks T.T

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

