Favorite/Least Favorite Required Readings

Sorry I have been so absent this week. I’m writing a book! (Also school has been unconventionally ridiculous.) I decided to start playing around with a different graphic look. What do you think?

***

There is something about being forced to read books that makes it not as fun. There have been some books I have read for school that I have immensely enjoyed, but there are a lot more that I haven’t.

I don’t know what it is, but being forced to read makes me not enjoy it (as much). I don’t know if you can relate, but all of the time people will tell me “Well, you read a lot, so you probably like this sort of thing,” when in all honestly, I dislike it more than them for that very reason. Since I read so much, I am pickier with what I read, and when I am forced to read books I don’t want to read, I’m don’t enjoyΒ it as much.

Required Books I have Liked

To Kill a Mockingbird is my absolute favorite book I have ever had to read for school. I LOVE IT!

The Kite Runner is such a great representation of modern day Afghanistan. Even though it was really sad, it was still good.

The Great Gatsby. Need I say more?

It was “Okay”

These are the ones I liked but didn’t love.

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Huckleberry Finn

A Tale of Two Cities

Julius Caesar

Macbeth

 

Didn’t Like

These don’t even deserve the time it takes to find pictures.

The Lord of the Flies:Β No. Just no. Little boys killing each other? Okay.

The Pearl

Animal Farm

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven

The Crucible

Romeo & Juliet

The Scarlet Letter:Β My teacher originally told my class we would be spending 10 days on this book. Crazy, right? And THEN we read it 3 times and had to spend 8 months on it. (*cough* imbecile teacher alert).

 

How about you? What books have you enjoyed that you have read for school? Do you feel the same way about required readings?

 

29 thoughts on “Favorite/Least Favorite Required Readings

  1. Your list is so interesting! I’m really anxious to read The Kite Runner, so I’m glad to hear yet more good things about it. I also hated Animal Farm, but I also hated The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, which was great for analysis and sucked as a book. I actually really enjoyed Lord of the Flies though, and The Scarlet Letter (though we spent too long on it in my class too!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my required readings in year 8 was “Blueback” by Tim Winton. It’s not a classic. The language was so simple that it didn’t interest me, because it wasn’t challenging enough.

    Another one of my required readings (as of now) is The Hobbit. Everyone in my class thinks the book is great, but I just want to gag. That language is too dull. Challenging, but dull.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never heard of Blueback. I haven’t ever been able to get into The Lord of the Rings series. I heard the Hobbit is a bit better, but they are too slow for my taste as well. Sorry you have to get through that. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s interesting if you like to learn about what it is like to live on an indian reservation, but every other word was the f-bomb or some profanity, and it was inappropriate in a lot of ways. It made me feel really (depressed, upset?) bad and I hated it… I thought it sounded cool by the title too, but it wasn’t (in my opinion). Thanks for stopping by, Josh!

      Like

  3. None of the books I had to read in school were your “classic” books that everyone reads, like I think I read three of the same books as you. I’m sorry you didn’t like The Picture of Dorian Gray, I wished we had read that- we almost did, that’s my favourite book. I agree with you Animal Farm I could not stand, it was way too political for me. I never really understood why we had to read it. We had to read Speak in the 9th grade and that bored me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really don’t remember too many books I was required to read, or at least if I liked them or not. I only really remember enjoying three:
    The Girl of the Limberlost
    Rebecca
    And my favorite of the three:
    Where the Red Fern Grows
    Depressing ending, but I think that’s why I found it so interesting. Just unexpected.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved The Great Gatsby as well! I also really like Slaughterhouse Five which was surprising. I didn’t like Frankenstein, which I was disappointed about. My all-time least favorite read ever was Grapes of Wrath. Ew. I’m not a fan of John Steinbeck. Beloved was an odd one too…I almost would’ve rather read Romeo and Juliet again for the thousandth time. Seriously though. How many years do we need to read it? It’s not like it changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never heard of Slaughterhouse Five. What is it about? I don’t know anyone who enjoyed Frankenstein. UGH. Grapes of Wrath. I’ve heard a lot about that one too. 😦 The only thing I liked about R&J was that Shakespeare was making fun of the situation. Otherwise, it is just super profane (inappropriate wise, not language necessarily), and stupid as far as Romeo & Juliet the characters go. Agreed. Everyone already knows the story. Thanks for stopping by, Carrianne.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually kind of like required readings because they introduce me to books I never would have picked up otherwise (and most are classics so I can pretend to be smarter). I loved Tess of the D’urbervilles, Catcher in the Rye, The Crucible, Pride and Prejudice, Little Women, etc.

    Although I hated Gatsby. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s true. I just really don’t like being forced to read books. I would rather read them purposefully and enjoy them (or stop reading if I don’t enjoy them) than be forced to read it for a month since we aren’t allowed to “skip ahead”. There are still so many classic books that I need to read. I feel like everyone either really liked Gatsby or hates it. There isn’t much of a middle ground. Thanks for stopping by, Emily! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. We read The Great Gatsby this winter term and I was surprised how much I liked it. Also, Of Mice and Men was AMAZING! I didn’t know what the books is about and I ended up crying like a baby. Seriously, that book is hidden gem.
    I had to read The Lord of the Flies for my state exams and it was horrible. That and The Fight Club were two most dreadful books I’ve read during the four years at uni. But my opinion on required reading is a little bit different because I’m from Slovakia and we don’t have English literature on high school so now I’m like: Yes please, I want to read more! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read Of Mice and Men, but have heard a lot of good things about it. Right? I hate that book so much! That makes sense. I just really don’t like being forced to read books. I’d rather choose to read them.

      Also when they are for school it taints the possibility of it being great. I feel like because I have to read them for school, I don’t get the chance to think they are great. They can only be good. I’m not sure if you know what I mean, but…

      Slovakia? That is so cool! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by, Simone!

      Like

  8. That’s what’s so interesting about required reading books – you either love them or hate them. I completely agree with your assessments of the books though. To Kill a Mockingbird was such a beautifully written and memorable story, and I too was a bit ambivalent about Julius Caesar. I’m actually starting Romeo & Juliet soon, so I guess I’ll have to lower my expectations for that one. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so glad I didn’t have to read some of these, I would probably dislike them now, just like I do some of my school reads. There were few I really liked, for example, The Master and Margarita. Most of the school reads have one issue – we’re usually too young to fully appreciate them. All of the books by Mickiewicz and other famous Polish writers are fantastically written, but when you’re a kid you just don’t care for that and after you grow up, you might not want to pick these up again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So true. I feel like even now (I’m 16) I don’t fully appreciate some “classics” purely because I feel like there are so many other books I would rather be reading. I think that if there were required readings for adults they might be received better? I don’t know. BUT, I also think the whole “being forced to read a book” thing contributes to me not liking it. Thanks for stopping by, Magini!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

