[Discussion Sunday] judging books by their covers

Discussion (1)

I don’t know about you, but I judge books by their covers all the time. I have even bought a few books purely because of their covers. What makes a cover good?

Qualities of a Good Book Cover

  • Abstract
  • Good color schemes
  • unique
  • not too busy
  • says SOMETHING about the book. Maybe? Unless it’s pretty enough/ classic enough to not need to.

 

Qualities of a Bad Book Cover

  • People’s faces… STAWP

pretties

  • Weird dramatic/ shirtless guys or something of the sort… you know what I’m talking about…

city of bones

  • Real people in general… unless it’s a memoir or biography etc. 

 

How about you? What do you like/ not like in book covers? What makes you like them or not like them?

Love, Aubrey

12 thoughts on “[Discussion Sunday] judging books by their covers

    • I completely agree. There is a certain look to lots of books that just make me cringe a little. I’m sure they could still be good books, but the cover is one of the first impressions. I love gorgeous covers too! It may be shallow, I guess, but if I am going to be paying $25 for a book I could get from the library, it needs to look nice. Thanks for stopping by, Bea!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. LOL YES! That Pretties cover is ugly! haha but I judge covers all the time, but I would like to say in a good way, because most really are very well designed. Unless it’s a romance novel- why are those ALWAYS so ugly? a man with muscles is not attractive, even though that’s why it’s there haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

