[Discussion Sunday] originality in graphics // in which i rant and give how tos

 

Discussion Sunday

I know this graphic needs to be redone and doesn’t even match my blog anymore, but I suppose it is a good example of an attempt at making a graphic (a.k.a. what not to do)?

 

Cait made an amazing post about originality and the difference between being inspired and copying here, and everyone should go read it because it is SO TRUE.

I really need to branch off about her post and talk about graphics.

First off, USE GRAPHICS.

Every blogger needs to because it makes posts look better and makes things more exciting. The extra time it takes to make them is worth it, I promise.

Secondly, MAKE YOUR OWN GRAPHICS.

There are many reasons for this.

  1. Copyright infringement. When you steal someone else’s work YOU ARE BREAKING LAWS.
  2. If everything you do comes from other people, are you your own person or a robot.
  3. Uniformity. You can play around with designs and have fun and make all of your graphics look similar so your blog will look amazing.
  4. It becomes fun once you get the hang of it.

If you absolutely adore a graphic someone else has, or if it is something they made for a tag and you really like it ASK THEM FOR PERMISSION TO USE IT and then GIVE THEM CREDIT. Just because it is the graphic for the tag doesn’t mean you have automatic rights to use it without permission. It never hurts to ask and only takes a few more minutes of your time.

How to make your own graphics.

I am not going to pretend that I know much about this or that my graphics are very nice (I actually generally hate them), but I am getting better and learning as I go along.

Picmonkey

This is a great editing site and it does have a free version (you can pay for upgrades). I just use the free stuff because I don’t need all of the fancy editing tools (because I am not a fancy editor).

Canva

Canva is my absolute favorite. It is so easy to use and has SO many tools and outlines to work with. You can choose whatever size document you want and go with it.

For actual pictures…

  1. Take your own pictures (I am not a good photographer and don’t have much time, but a lot of people take absolutely glorious pictures). They always look the best and just have a lot of you in them.
  2. NEVER NEVER NEVER take pictures from someone else without permission. This is illegal and just makes you look bad.
  3. Stock pictures. You have to be really careful about this, but if you look hard enough you can find websites with absolutely free no copyright pictures. Still, you should always ask for permission first.
  4. Can I just reiterate DON’T TAKE OTHER PEOPLE’S PICTURES. It’s not cool.

If you spend a little time looking around, you will find editing programs and a picture style that suits you.

Amanda has practically a million tips on whatever you could ever need to know graphic wise and she is amazing, so go check out her blog for more professional help.

It’s a process.

They aren’t going to start out perfect (at least for me they didn’t, and are still far from). However, they will get better as you go along. Here is the pictures over time that I have made. I think they have gotten slightly better from the beginning…

Quotes:

Cringe worthy:

but, again. it’s a process.

still, they hurt to look at…

Getting better

I feel like I have come a long way, and even though I have a lot farther to go, it is getting better.

 

Picture originality makes your site look better all around. Don’t be a carbon copy of everyone else, and certainly don’t copy other people. It just makes you look bad and doesn’t make your blog seem as reliable or good.

Sorry for my little rant. Let’s talk. Do you have any tips and tricks on graphics? What do you use? What is your favorite style?

Love, Aubrey

25 thoughts on “[Discussion Sunday] originality in graphics // in which i rant and give how tos

  1. I have only recent started adding decent graphics on my blog. I had no idea what I was going earlier and my graphics were tacky and even ugly sometimes. But I will continue to learn and get better.

    I also love Canva. It has changed my life as a blogger.
    Question: if you pay for a picture in Canva, which costs $, Can you use them as many times as you want?

    I like that they have their own beautiful pictures because I suck at taking them,so I’m considering paying for a few when it’s necessary. Haven’t yet, though, since their free content is great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is a part of the fun too. I like (and cry a little) to look back on my older graphics and pictures just to see how far I have come. I have only ever bought anything on Canva once, and I couldn’t reuse it, but still it is fantastic and there are so many amazing free tools too. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. I love this post! I just started blogging a few months ago and I still haven’t started making any graphics 😅. You’re absolutely right though, I really love blog posts that do have them. This post was really helpful, hopefully I will start making mine soon 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome to the blogging world! They take some time, but are certainly worth it. If you are interested in more info, you should check out Amanda’s blog! (She knows so much more about it than I do.) Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post! I just started blogging a few months ago and I haven’t quite got the hang of graphics yet. I think especially starting out as a new blogger at this time when there are soo many developed/professional blogs whenever I make a graphic I feel embarrassed. They look really amateur to me and I still haven’t plucked up the courage to include one yet😅. I wish your first attempts looked like my 100th attempt! ( yes I’m that bad 😅) But you’ve listed some great resources that hopefully should help me make something I would be willing to post 😅. Thanks for this post I really needed it😢 ( wow I just realised how much I wrote😅)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! (haha double comments?) Oh yeah, I feel the same way, but the way I look at it there will always be another blog that is older and more experienced than I am and that is okay because it isn’t a competition and every day is good practice that helps to make me better. You should definitely just go for it and include them because then you can look back on it and see how far you have come. Oh, boy. I’m sure they are fine. You are new and everyone has to start somewhere :). Just always aim for originality and it will be great. (Don’t worry about long comments, it’s just a part of life.) 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. As someone who has had their art stolen before I appreciate posts like this. As someone who is known to steal others artworks, I am convicted by this post. And I have always loved your graphics.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow, so you really understand both sides of the problem. You ARE an artist, though, so why are you stealing other people’s stuff? Thanks! It was *really* rough at the beginning. Thanks for stopping by, Josh!

      Like

  5. Great post! I take all my own photos for this reason! The odd time I take photos of book covers from Goodreads just because I don’t have the book anymore to take a physical photo of it. Your graphics are cute! I wish I could make something simple, but anything I create from scratch always looks funny haha! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I always take book covers from goodreads (or when I was an affiliate of amazon I would do it there), but I feel like that is a little different and if goodreads contacted me I would definitely take it down. Physical pictures always look better, though. Thank you! I feel like no one ever likes their own work. I’m sure yours is great. It (just like anything else) just takes practice (and I need lots of it). Thanks for stopping by, Meghan!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I don’t feel so alone. I thought I was the only one who took book covers from goodreads haha. Sometimes I just don’t have the time to take actual good photos. I have no artistic abilities anyone could tell you, so I’m okay with not having graphics, but agree having them makes things so much nicer. It’s also the reason I’ve been trying my hand at taking more book photos on Instagram, to give my posts something more! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. One app on my phone that I use a lot for graphic inspiration is Typorama. It’s really varied and it fits a lot with my blog theme! I think one of the most important things in graphics is the consistency. It’ll be better to have the same theme of graphics in all your blog. For example for me I use illustrations of tea on my headers and so when someone sees my graphic hopefully they immediately recognize that it’s from Tea and Paperbacks 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This was such a great post! I use Canva a lot for my blog posts, to make little designs and stuff, but whenever I’m reviewing a book or writing a book discussion, I try my best to take my own pictures of books, because well, stealing other people’s work is dumb and really brings nothing to your blog, and it’s way more beautiful when it’s all yours, even if it takes some time for it to be great 😀
    I’m far from being perfect, but lately I’m getting more and more satisfied with graphics, and it’s a blog’s identity as well, so that’s good to have your own! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

