[Review] adventure & peter pan TIGER LILY BY JODI LYNN ANDERSON

tigerlily

Tiger Lily.

I’m not sure what I feel. I feel drained, honestly. I feel like a hurricane came and washed over me. I am devastated, but not necessarily in a bad way. Sometimes towns that are devastated by hurricanes come back and are better than they were before. One thing is certain, though, I am never going to look at the story of Peter Pan, and certainly not Tiger Lily the same way ever again.

i liked...

  • Tiger Lily is so strong and is a girl (gasp). She isn’t liked by any of the boys (besides Pine Sap) because she is better than them, and isn’t liked by the girls because she isn’t like them. She is true bravery, but can also be cowardly. I think she is a very realistic (okay, yes I know she isn’t realistic, but the things she goes through are sometimes (ex/ bullying, loss, love, etc.))
  • Pine Sap is so adorable (however, I wish he would have been a more developed character)
  • Peter and the boys are so wild and Tiger Lily is so wild and they run wild until the Wendy bird comes and changes them forever (tames them).
  • The Englanders and the different forms of religion and life and I just thought it added a really interesting element.
  • It is told by Tinker Bell, and I thought it was an awesome POV because it was so different, and I got to see everything she saw.

i didn't like...

  • I wish the characters had been deeper. It is a contemporary novel that wasn’t very long, and I understand that, but I just really like complex characters, and a lot of them weren’t that.
  • Wendy. I have always loved Wendy’s character and the whole Peter Pan story, but I didn’t like Wendy in this. I guess she just seemed too stupid to me. I thought she clearly did love Peter and the boys and that she wasn’t a bad person, but she was just so naive and couldn’t see the things that were so clearly in front of her.
  • Giant. (nuff said)

Overall

It is a great little story that I am still extremely shaken up about. Even though I knew what was going to happen in the end from the beginning, I was still surprised. I love retellings, and this has just solidified that even more. I will never forget the girl with the crow’s feathers in her hair.

Love, Aubrey

5 thoughts on “[Review] adventure & peter pan TIGER LILY BY JODI LYNN ANDERSON

  1. I am so glad you liked this as much as I did! I completely agree with everything you’ve said here. The writing was so elegant and the end just broke my heart into a thousand pieces. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

