[Reread Review] 10 reasons you need to read CRESS BY MARISSA MEYER

cress

This was a reread because I plan to finally read Winter. Last summer I read Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Fairest and fell in love with the characters and world. I gave it 5 stars before and since I know I have rated things differently {rating system update} (I don’t give out 5 stars unless I am in LOVE with the book) I didn’t think I would this time around, BUT I DID.

 

Cress was my favorite book in the series (still is) and there are many reasons for that.

i liked...

  • Cress is so fangirly. Seriously. Can you say RELATABLE. Also she is adorable (and short like me).
  • Iko & Thorne’s banter all of the time. Thorne and anyone is generally pretty funny. IT’S A FUNNY BOOK.
  • THORNE! I LOVE HIM! I love how he actually sometimes acts a little flustered with Cress and he tries to tell her all the reasons he isn’t a hero and behind all of the grandeur.
  • Winter! Even just the little sliver of her we get in this book (and I remember some from when I read Fairest last year) she is so crazy and amazing and I love it.
  • Plot. Everything ties together really well. It’s a really long book, but I found myself not wanting to put it down.
  • Iko & Kai & Cinder.
    • First off, Kai has practically taken the weight of the world on his shoulders and is actually a really good guy and has been dealing with a lot.
    • Secondly, Iko’s love for Kai cracks me up (AGAIN, this book is funny) because she is so ‘in love’ with him but she’s an android and GAH!
  • All of the characters fit together really nicely (just like the story)
  • It is the best fairy tale retelling ever (if you can even call it that). It definitely doesn’t feel like it, but does have the fairy tale elements in it.
  • When they are all separated each story and person can hold their own. I don’t find myself dreading certain POVs and characters like I have in some other books.
  • BECAUSE I SAID SO… Seriously, if everything above and it’s super high ratings aren’t enough for you, read it because I recommended it. 🙂

Overall

There are so many things to love about Cress and the entire series! I’m a little nervous for it to end.

5 STARS

Love, Aubrey

3 thoughts on “[Reread Review] 10 reasons you need to read CRESS BY MARISSA MEYER

Leave a Reply

