[Review] a million reasons to read WINTER BY MARISSA MEYER

winter

i liked...

  • I love how the whole series always starts with the character it was named after and then connects to everything else.
  • From the very beginning I was in love with this story. 400 pages in and still on the edge of my seat (bed). I flew threw it and it didn’t feel anywhere near as long as it is. It left me screaming what the heck so many times and it was just so beautiful wow wow wow.
  • Levana’s constant attacks against everyone, but hope in the midst of everything going on. Levana isn’t a lame villain (especially after reading Fairest and getting some back story).
  • The characters and their interactions with each other. They are all strong characters by themselves and together they are absolutely FLAWLESS! I love all of their relationships with each other (romantic or otherwise).
    • Winter’s character alone makes my life, and is so interesting. I adore her craziness because it is so noble, and I love reading her POV. SCREAMING because of all that Winter goes through and it continually gets worse. EVERYTHING WINTER SAYS IS GOLD. i think i am winter
    • Jason + Winter is LOVE! I didn’t like him much before, but he is so gallantly heroic. He is sarcastic and witty and cares for her so much. He is a noble guard and has been abused by the crown like everyone else. Jasonnnn!
    • Thorne cares for his crew. He is so cocky in a funny and nice way LOVE IT except when it comes to Cress and then he is unsure and adorable and ahhh Couple of the year award to Cap and Cress gah it makes me melt.
    • Kai and Cinder. I feel like they are the parents of the whole crew (does anyone else get that impression?) Also, Cinder acts way way older than she is (they both do).
    • Torin! He is such a great father figure and is very practical.
    • IKO is so… fashionable(?) and her crush on Kai is makes me laugh.

i didn't like...

  • 3/4 of the way through the pace seemed to slow a bit and I felt some of it was unnecessary at that point.

Really that’s it. I loved this book, and I am still on the little reading high post Winter (if you get what I’m saying). I’m sad that it’s over.

Overall

When I finished, I wrote this, and I don’t think I could phrase my fangirlly shrieking any better right now, “OH MY GOSH THAT WAS SO SO SO GOOD! Okay, so I thought that it could possibly end up feeling gushy and fake (ha! Because the story is so realistic to begin with), but it was actually amazing and I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS ENTIRE SERIES IT WAS PERFECTION.” Winter ended up being my favorite of the series because Winter the character is my favorite. YOU NEED TO READ IT RIGHT NOW!

Quotes:

“We think that if we choose to do only good, then we are only good. We do not see the falsehood becoming its own brand of cruelty.” (268)

Stay with me, Princess. Stay with me– But she was already so far away.” (271)

“‘You are wrong,’ she said, turning her face up to the queen. ‘You are the killer. You are the predator. You know nothing of loyalty or love… We may be animals, but we will never again live in your cage.’” (385)

“And I believe you’re not as crazy as you want everyone to believe you are.” (481)

“She was trapped. Thorne was captured. But they had been heroic.” (648)

“Let’s not be cruel. One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now.” (812)

5 STARS

if you liked this, you'll like this.jpg

Here are some books that may have similar aspects.

  • Tiger Lily is a retelling of Peter Pan that forever changed how I look at the story.
  • The Kiss of Deception is a series about a run away princess of sorts (go into it with as little possible knowledge as possible) {book 2}.
  • Throne of Glass… Well, it has a lot of fighting and craziness, and how can one explain it {book 2, book 3, novellas}?
  • Shatter Me. I’m not sure why I included it, but you might like it.
  • The Selection has a lot of controversy, but has the princess aspect but is more frilly.

Love, Aubrey

9 thoughts on “[Review] a million reasons to read WINTER BY MARISSA MEYER

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Winter as much as I enjoyed the rest of the series. It was fast paced and loads of fun.

    The only thing I didn’t love was that it felt repetitive in some parts where one character offered to sacrifice him/herself for another character to run/hide/do something. Meyer used that plot device a few times in different set ups and it was a bit much for me. Still, I can’t complain too much because it was such a fun read.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree! This is such a great finale for the series, and I am so glad you liked it as much as I did. 🙂 The romance and the characters were both amazing. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WINTER IS SO VERY GOOD HUZZAH!!! I did love it although I absolutely agree that the 3/4 mark was toooooo slow. Like the entire time at Wolf’s house? *snooze* And I was really frustrated how unorganised their revolution was. I mean, WHO IS EVEN PLANNING THIS THING?!?! They were winging it most of the time.😂
    JACINA AND WINTER THOUGH. ❤ I loved Winter and the representation of her mental illness so so so much.
    Zomg and YES I think Kai/Cinder were the parents. 😄 And Thorne?! THORNE IS LIKE THE LIFE OF THE PARTY I JUST LOVE HOW SASSY HE IS.
    Anyway! Enough fangirling from me hahah. I have to still read Stars Above but hopefully I will soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. I feel like there were certainly parts that could have been cut and it wouldn’t change anything. Oh my goodness that is so so so true. How did the revolution even work when they were just like “let’s all join forces and go to the capital and see what happens”. YES YES YES! I love how Winter’s POV was used at times to express her mental illness and how she and Jason were always fighting it. THORNE IS SO AMAZING GAH! I love how Cress was just this little fangirl who actually got the guy ahaha. OH me too! I need to read so many books. Thanks for stopping by, Cait!

      Like

Leave a Reply

