why i started blogging and still love it (one year later)

Normal people just don’t get it. Sure there might be one or two people I know who may share the same enthusiasm I have for maybe one book, but when I start going on a rant about anything else their eyes get this glazed over look on them. I love to use really big words in front of people, especially adults because it is funny to see how they react. Generally teenagers and kids will ask what it means, but adults will nod their heads and pretend they know when it is very apparent they don’t, but who would want to admit that a 16 year old knows a word you don’t?

 

At the end of the day, if you don’t have anything to say was your life meaningful? One of my fears is oblivion. Not in the literal sense, but in the sense that I will die without ever making a difference. I feel that I have made a difference in some people, but I always am left wondering could I have done more? Which is a part of life.

 

I started blogging because I have passion. Specifically, I have a passion for books. I have something to say, and I wanted to say it. I wanted to say it to people who cared and maybe even had the same passion for books that I did. Words can inspire, create, motivate, and entertain. I wanted to be a crazy fangirl over all of the exciting things that were happening in these magical worlds that have become home. I wanted to talk to people that understand. I adore how words–how books can change the world. Not everyone has the same beliefs and feelings as me and that is the fun part. I have had discussions about many topics with people of all ages all around the world. I have made internet friends with people in Australia, France, England, the Philippines, and so many other places I would have never imagined.

 

The most important reason I blog is for myself. If you aren’t doing it for yourself, you won’t be doing it for long. I wanted an outlet for my creativity and craziness. I wanted to improve in writing and reading, and to become a part of this blogging community that I now love. I love being surrounded by other insane, nerdy, and amazing people.
I love getting away from my everyday life and just being able to write and write until it is out there. It has been such an amazing journey and I have grown and learned in more ways than I can count.

//

Why did you start blogging? Do you still love it? Let me know below.

Love, Aubrey

10 thoughts on “why i started blogging and still love it (one year later)

  1. Congratulation on knocking out one year. That’s something to be proud of (you have to wonder how many words you have written collectively). I couldn’t agree with you more about the joy of interaction. One of my favorite aspects of blogging is the global interaction with people too. There’s nothing quite like it.

    Keep up the posts – I will try to swing by often.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a nice post, Aubrey! It’s really heartfelt and brings back so many memories from when I first started blogging. And I can relate to this post so much – maybe too much (but I don’t think that’s a bad thing). Especially the first two paragraphs.

    When I started blogging… man, I was a mess. I was two parts excited to share my thoughts and one part secretly hoping that this was it, THIS was something I could get famous at. But of course it was horribly wishful thinking and I was brought back down to earth. Hard.

    But now I know better, and I’m pretty happy at where I’m at. I stopped the line of thinking that went, ‘what do people want to read?’ and switched to ‘what do I want to talk about?’ Changed the way I blog and I can’t say I’m sorry about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m really glad you can relate. I’m glad you have learned so much since you have started. I know I have! I think it is absolutely the most important thing to blog for yourself. Keep it up! Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  3. Aw, this is awesome!! First, HUGE congrats on the year of blogging, that is wonderful! Second, I LOVE the reasons you blog! I feel the same way you do, I have this huge fear of like, leaving the world no better than it was when I came into it, you know? So yeah, I understand that. And you are SO spot on about doing it for yourself. The times I have pushed MY feelings to the background are the times that I have not loved blogging- so it is so, so important to remember that! I am glad that this has been such an amazing and positive experience for you, and I hope you have many more anniversaries to come! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Thanks Shannon! Yes. I want to make a difference. It’s very hard to do something as time consuming as blogging if you aren’t doing it for yourself. I hope to keep doing it for a very long time as well! 🙂

      Like

  4. Congrats on one year! And we started blogging very close to the same time! I also just had my one year blogging anniversary this month 🙂 I love it for many of the same reasons. It’s wonderful being able to share my thoughts and discuss something that I’m so passionate about and actually have other people who get it. If not for the blogging community, I’d just be thinking all the thoughts alone in my head 😛

    And that’s too funny how teens and kids will ask what something means but adults will just nod their heads lol. I think I used to worry more about looking foolish, but now I always just ask if I don’t know what someone’s talking about. None of us knows everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you as well! 🙂 I’m glad you relate. I think that is one of my favorite parts about this wonderful blogging community. We are all from diversely different backgrounds, but can relate to each other. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

