[Review] magical and sacrificial A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS

acotar

This was such a wonderful book. Honestly, I had meant to clean up the review a lot sooner, but I started reading ACOMAF right away, and didn’t get around to it. I actually wrote the ACOMAF review first (anticipation), and it is much more structured and complete. This is a general stream of consciousness type of review on my thoughts for this lovely story. Let me know what you think in comments. Let’s fangirl (or fanboy) together!

i liked...

The book I needed to bring me out of my slump. A wondrous reminder as to why I love Sarah J. Maas so so much!

Characters: there is always so much detail to each of S.J. Maas’ book characters and it makes me love them so much. Every character, no matter how minor, seems to have an extreme backstory, motivation, and a depth that most books don’t even brush the surface of.

  • Feyre is a strong character with weaknesses. I like her name. I like how bold she is and how it almost gets her killed every time.
  • The creativity in all of the beasts and monsters. Also, the way she reveals the monster inside each character and how they fall apart. Faeries can be destroyed and have weaknesses too.

The characters slowly, but surly warm up to each other.

They all have stereotypes about each other’s species and prejudices but they end up being wrong.

 

Plot: it is so simply complex and I have been surprised multiple times. When I can guess the plot, or what is going to happen, I am not disappointed. (Also, I guessed the riddle a few pages after I read it, not to brag or anything.)

What would you do for love?

 

ALL THE FEELS!

I feel like there is no way to not grow attached to the characters and their attachments to each other. All of the relationships and enemyships in the story are felt very deeply.

Quotes

(Oh snap sass)

“He also said that you like being brushed, and if I’m a clever girl, I might train you with treats.” (158)

“Because your human joy fascinates me–the way you experience things, in your life span, so widely and deeply and all at once, is… entrancing. I’m drawn to it, even when I know I shouldn’t be, even when I try not to be.” (172)

“‘I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.’” (248)

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.” (414)

 

 

i didn't like...

  • Unwanted steaminess in a couple of scenes… skip skip skip

 

Love, Aubrey

17 thoughts on “[Review] magical and sacrificial A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS

  1. Yeah! I am so glad you liked this so much! It’s always a nice feeling when a really hyped book lives up to your expectations. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you think of the sequel! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg. Haha do you mind if you read my review of this book too? I mean, we both love the book alright but we don’t agree with ssome haha! I looove Rhysand. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    • WARNING: SPOILERS. YAY! Ugh. Okay, well I think that Tamlin is a really shallow character (as far as development goes), and he and Feyre (especially after the mountain) really only loved the concept of each other. He didn’t really ever understand her and even less so after the mountain. At first I liked him, but then I realized he is a cookie cutter prince. RHYS though… is another story. I think the ending is what the story needed to not just wrap up in a little bow. It goes back to the whole sacrificial character thing, and I hope Maas takes this turn of events and uses it well because I feel like there is a lot to go off of this. I really wanted to read the next one as soon as I finished. What do you think about all of that?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually wasn’t overly satisfied with ACOTAR. I felt like Feyre and Tamlin had a totally unrealistic insta-love and I felt that the book was rushed. Also, be prepared for ACOMAF, it is more complex and enthralling BUT MAJOR STEAMY SCENES!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Tamlin is such a cookie cutter prince type and Feyre and him were only ever truly in love with the concepts of each other. They were super surface and he didn’t ever really understand her. Yeah… I actually had already finished ACOMAF when I wrote this review, and that was one major downfall for that book for me (even though it is superior in every other way). I just felt like it was a bit much, you know? Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree. And as much as I liked ACOMAF too, I felt like all the characters i.e. Mor, Cassian, Azriel, etc, were just too perfect. Despite having gone through so many hardships, they are presented as if they can do no wrong. As much as I love them all (they are perfect after all) I just felt they are not realistic in that sense. Granted, many problem don’t agree with me on that. 😐

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, and I see that too, but I don’t think they are meant to be super realistic (seeing as how it is fantasy and they are practically immortal). I think it could possibly be better if they did show their faults more, but I think it will come out more in the next few books. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

