[Review] characters and world building explosions A COURT OF MIST AND FURY BY SARAH J MAAS **contains minor spoilers**

*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS FOR BOTH A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES AND A COURT OF MIST AND FURY. PLEASE DO NOT SPOIL YOURSELF.*

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

acomaf

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

(summary from goodreads).

 

SJ Maas did it again. She is one of my favorite authors ever because of her complex characters and extensive worlds. I am freaking out and NEED the next story. AHHH!

 

i liked...

Maas’ books are always filled with some of the most complex characters out there. Even the smaller characters all have a backstory and motivation. It is a big reason why I love her books and stories so much. Her characters complete and make the story go above and beyond what it would be otherwise.

Strong Female Characters

Feyre was notably strong, but also admitted her flaws. I think the strongest female the whole story, even more than Amren, would be Mor.

“A special strength in enduring such dark trials and hardships… And still remaining warm, and kind. Still willing to trust–and to reach out.” (239)

“I thought of that merry face, the flippant laughter, the female that did not care who approved. Perhaps because she had seen the ugliest her kind had to offer. And had survived.” (397)

Most of the characters have a certain likeableness to them that can very quickly and easily be turned on its head. I love how easily the entire story changed and I quickly changed my allegiances to the characters.

I like how broken and vulnerable many (if not all) of the characters are. Everyone has messes in real life, and this book showed that. The Fae aren’t perfect even if they appear to be.

Character interactions

Overall, I liked the chemistry between the characters even better in ACOMAF than in the Throne of Glass series. There is something raw about the bonds between Rhys, Feyre, Azriel, Cassian, and Amren. They are a family, and their jokes and sarcasm was so real I felt like I was part of it.

Empowerment

Through Rhys and a few other characters, there is a clear message of empowerment. Everyone feels like they aren’t worth it sometimes, but they are valued and loved even when they may not know it.

It made me feel things

I was hooked. Still am, honestly. I can feel the book hangover coming.

The characters all go through genuine pain and it hurt me. They were all so extremely sacrificial and GAHHH!

Quotes

“I am drowning. And the more you do this, the more guards… you might as well be shoving my head under the water.” (100)

“No one was my master–but I might be the master of everything, if I wished. If I dared.” (319)

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.” (461)

 

i didn't like...

Tamlin doesn’t notice much. Would he have even liked Feyre without the curse?

Can I rant for a moment? Well, I’m going to anyway, so jokes on you! Ha! It drives me crazy that new adult authors and books somehow feel like they have to include steamy scenes in them. I could DEFINITELY deal without. The number of these scenes was outrageous. I had to skip pages a lot and it honestly took away from the book for me. I understand that some people will say I shouldn’t be reading “adult books” if I can’t handle it, but I don’t think it is necessary to describe all of that. I think it adds nothing, and people who need those details in their minds from the pages of books can crawl to their erotica and be happy and vulgar.

 

Overall

I think I would have rated this book 5 stars if it weren’t for all of the explicit details, but that was a major turn off for me. I still adored the book and its characters however, and am in need of the next one (how on earth are there supposed to be EIGHT OF THEM???)

 

What did you think? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Let me know your thoughts and feeling so we can fangirl(boy) together in the comments below!

Love, Aubrey

4 thoughts on “[Review] characters and world building explosions A COURT OF MIST AND FURY BY SARAH J MAAS **contains minor spoilers**

  1. I’m on the fence about whether to read this one. On the one hand, I wasn’t a fan of Faye and Tamlin’s relationship in the first book. On the other, I hear this book does better on a lot of the issues I had with book one. (That, and almost every review I see loved it!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • READ IT! It was way way way better than ACOTAR and certain main characters in this one are a much needed improvement to the last (me trying to convince you without giving anything away and failing. UGH. life is hard.) BUT SERIOUSLY at least give it a shot! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

