[Review] predictable but lovely THE CROWN BY KIERA CASS (#5 The Selection Series)

thecrown

I read The Crown faster than I have read a book in a really long time. It was the lighthearted story I needed.

CHARACTERS

The characters have improved so much. My main problem with The Heir was how *mean and bratty* Eadlyn was to everyone. In The Crown she seems like an entirely different person and warms up to everyone so much more. She seems to finally be letting her guard down a little. Her character is about empowerment, but even more than that I think it is about self-improvement. Her character has come so far!

*I would love to use a different word here, but…

Then the boys are an improvement as well… No spoilers here, but SHRIEK WITH ME IN THE COMMENTS PLEASE.

Maxon and America’s love is still adorable and “the power of love/follow your heart” etc.

I FELT THE FEELS

Maxon’s dad jokes were pretty dang funny (just me? okay). I kept getting drawn in. I don’t think I have cried so hard over a book in a very long time and the thing is it wasn’t even that it was particularly sad, I was just so drawn into the story and the OTPs were growing. (Why was I crying though? For reallll???)

Overall

Now I want to reread the series. The entire Selection series is widely disputed and has a bad rap to a lot of people, but they are just such feel good gravitating books. Not perfect, but lovely. It was still predictable, but I appreciated that it didn’t involve too much thinking (I have been reading too many textbooks for school). Yes, it has it’s issues, but it was still a good book.

Can we just take a moment to appreciate that in Kiera Cass’ bio it calls her a lover of cake? Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Quotes

“‘This is a dandelion,’ I told him. He shrugged. ‘I know. Some see a weed; some see a flower. Perspective.’” (9)

“I drank champagne and laughed too loudly and ate half my bodyweight in chocolate.”(183)

“I’m telling you, Eady, wars and treaties and even countries will all come and go. But your life is yours, singular and sacred, and you should be with the person who makes it feel that way every blessed second you live it.” (187)

Summary

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined. (Goodreads)

Love, Aubrey

5 thoughts on “[Review] predictable but lovely THE CROWN BY KIERA CASS (#5 The Selection Series)

    • But, I kinda loved that it left me wanting more. I thought it was a really good ending to the series for that reason. The book I am currently is dragging and impossible to get through. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

