thank you, blogging… an open letter featuring YOU

I am linking up with The Thanks U Give celebration (I love that our bookish community is coming together to be thankful and kind). Thanks, y’all!

The Thanks U Give.jpg

Thank you, blogging, for helping me to think outside of the box.

Everyone has a different history and has had different experiences that have shaped them into who they are. In To Kill a Mockingbird Atticus tells Jem and Scout that to understand another person they must step inside someone else’s shoes. Book blogging has helped me to connect with (YOU) people who are from vastly different backgrounds and places. Even my American webernet friends have (obviously) different outlooks than I do. Atticus also told his kids that another way to understand someone is to step into their skin and walk around for a while. This is impossible and if nothing else, reading and blogging has taught me this. Even if a person is reading a story from a character’s point of view, they are not this character, and never will be.

Thank you, blogging, for allowing me to state my opinions and hear opinions other than my own.

Through blogging I have gotten to have discussions with people who don’t necessarily see the world as I do. I LOVE THIS. I have loved getting to fangirl and freak out about books and just shriek with you all, and then also fight for what we think is happening because EVERYONE IS ENTITLED TO THEIR OWN OPINION.

Thank you, blogging, for being an outlet for my creative genius.

Everyone needs a place where they can let the creative juices flow. Everyone needs a place where they can be themselves and shriek and not care one bit that anyone could see it and read it because THIS IS HOW I FEEL. (If you’re reading this, I suppose I haven’t scared you away yet).

Thank you, blogging, for being a place in this broken world that people can come together and be pals.

I appreciate each and every one of you. Thank you for being you.

 

This Thanksgiving season, I am thankful for my family and friends and for how God is constant, but I am also extremely thankful for each and every one of you who make up my little corner of the internet. Always,

Love, Aubrey

5 thoughts on “thank you, blogging… an open letter featuring YOU

Leave a Reply

