[Review] sassy magnus strikes again THE HAMMER OF THOR BY RICK RIORDAN

thehammerofthor

Overall

It wasn’t incredibly complex or deep, but it was a fun read and such a great book and story and GAH I need the next one IMMEDIATELY!!! The way Riordan has begun to weave the worlds together with enough sass to leave me laughing out loud is genius and I NEED MORE! (actually as soon as I finished this book I started reading The Trials of Apollo). The Hammer of Thor is somehow a step up from the last book. (If you are interested in my first review: The Sword of Summer) and I can’t wait to see what else will come.

Theme

I have learned so much about mythology of all types just by reading his books. They are generally pretty accurate and this is the type of sneaky learning I love doing.

Plot & Setting

Rick Riordan is so good at building worlds into each other. There are a lot of references to the other worlds he has created, especially since Magnus and Annabeth Chase are related. The way he made the gods’ world in the world we know and understand creates a connection. It makes it easier to visualize and creates a link between their world and ours.

Structure, Style, & Tone

The humor OH THE HUMOR! From chapter titles, to sassy characters, to edge of your seat excitement, this book is so funny. At times I could tell it was written for a younger audience, but that just added to it because it was very fast paced because of this.

Characters

Alex is so feisty and sassy and the gender fluid thing is kinda confusing but I ship her & Magnus so much. Sam is feisty in a different way & I really enjoyed the foiling between the two. Amir & Sam are the cutest & I loved how they worked through everything. The gods are idiots and never help with anything. Hearth & Blitz are two of the best & Jack is so stinking funny. THE SASS IS PALPABLE with Magnus. I like Magnus more and more with every line. He is just such a likeable and good guy. The way he handles everyone and everything is certainly worthy of Valhalla.

Quotes

I was so into the story that I didn’t even think about taking notes or quotes down. I was just reading and consuming this book. That being said, it wasn’t a John Green novel, and there weren’t a ton of quotable quotes.

Summary

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high. -credit to Goodreads

Love, Aubrey

LET’S SQUEAL TOGETHER: What did you think about The Hammer of Thor? Did you like it better than The Sword of Summer? Are you as excited to attack any more Riordan books as I am? Which series of his is your favorite (I think Percy still beats them all)? Let me know in the comments.

 

4 thoughts on “[Review] sassy magnus strikes again THE HAMMER OF THOR BY RICK RIORDAN

  1. I still haven’t read The Hammer of Thor and I’ve been wanting to get my hands on it so I can read it. And because of your review, I am more hell bent on getting the book!!

    And I am a certified fan of Rick Riordan! OMG! I like his series with Percy Jackson and the gang the most. I think his Greek myths book were the most amazing than the rest of his mythology books. Omg! Haha! I’m glad I’ve known someone who’s also his fan! *squealing so much* 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • READ IT DO IT NOW!!! Oh my gosh the entire series has so much perfection written all over it from the titles to the sass to Rick Riordan himself. I think they all go together so well, and I completely agree. Percy books are the best books. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

